A New Beginning..

Where to begin on your first blog post is a tough decision.  Whether to introduce yourself, explain your blog direction, or to simply start a post has given me a lot of thought.  Being it’s Christmas Eve, I have decided to start my blog as a sort of gift to myself.  This is a place where I want to be me without any apologies.  Where I can share my life as a new wife who is trying to find her way and live a healthy lifestyle.  I enjoy hostessing, baking, running, cooking, home decorating, writing and finding a way to laugh every day of my life.

Today’s post is simply about a Christmas party my husband and I through at our new home earlier this December.  It worked as a house warming/holiday get together for ourselves and about 15 of our friends.  I spent many hours cooking, cleaning and decorating our house with reds and silvers, snowmen and lights, garland and glitter.

Dining room, complete with Christmas linens received at a Bridal Shower
 Expecting at least 15-2o people, I knew I wanted to make enough appetizers to keep everyone happy.  The one ready made item we provided was Chick-Fil-A nuggets.  We had a buy one large tray, get a small tray free coupon and my brother and husand were quick to wanting to take advantage of this opportunity.  The rest of the menu contained a homemade crock-pot Spinach Artichoke Dip, fresh cut vegetables with ranch, homemade red velvet cake cupcakes with a buttercream frosting (which actually was bought from my favorite bakery, Ele, that we will discuss another time!), Rolo pretzels, and a holiday punch.  The punch contained a Sparkling Red Moscato from Sam’s Club, a bottle of Lemon-Lime Soda, and a container of Raspberry Sherbet.

Red Velvet Cupcakes with Buttercream Icing. The Display was a gift from my mom, purchased at Home Goods!

 

Pretzel Squares, Rolos and Holiday M&M's. Easy peasy and my friends could not get enough of these salty/sweet treats!

Pretzel Squares, Rolos and Holiday M&M's. Easy peasy and my friends could not get enough of these salty/sweet treats!

Fresh cut carrots, broccoli, cucumber and celery. So easy, fresher and much cheaper, to put your own tray together than buying pre-made from the grocery.
Fresh cut carrots, broccoli, cucumber and celery. So easy, fresher and much cheaper, to put your own tray together than buying pre-made from the grocery.

The night was a success and I enjoyed hostessing our first (hopefully annual!) Christmas party at our home.  I hope to have more events here in the future.  We received 7 bottles of wine, Belvedere Vodka, Skinny Girl Cosmo and Cabo Wabo.  Yep, I would say that another get together should not be too far in the future!

 
Here’s a quick pic of my husband and I in front of our first Christmas tree. This is a special moment I know I will cherish!

So there’s my first post.  I have an idea of what I want this blog to be, for I have been reading healthy living blogs since 2008.  I tried to start one a couple years ago that I had named Chocolate Dipped Buckeye, in reference to my Ohio State University alumni status.  However, I got too wrapped up in making it perfect and comparing it to other blogs.  This time around, I plan to do it my way and find my own direction in words and in life.

 
Off to enjoy the holiday with my family.  I will be hostessing Christmas Eve dinner this evening and couldn’t be more excited.
5 thoughts on “A New Beginning..

Leave a Reply

