Christmas Time is Here…

Well, here we are.  It’s already two days since Christmas and another work week has already began.  The past three days have gone by fast, but they were spent the way I hoped they would.  My holiday weekend was filled with enough family, love, food, presents, laughter and dancing (!) to last me until next year’s Christmas season comes around.

Our first Christmas tree

Let’s start back on Friday with Christmas Eve.  My husband went to the grocery to get ingredients for the night’s dinner, so I decided to surprise him with a festive holiday breakfast.  However, my sweet and salty plans did not play out quite the way I wanted!  Soft scrambled eggs and waffles with red and green m&ms were on the surprise menu.

I started with 5 fresh eggs

Add 1/4 cup of milk. Toss in a pinch of parsley and basil, along with salt and pepper to taste. I also included freshly grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese I received as a housewarming gift.

Next came my attempt at the sweet portion of breakfast.  I thought it would be great to include festive red and green m&m’s I had leftover from my rolo/pretzel treats and throw them into the waffle batter.  Brilliant, right!?

Chop Chop Chop

Well, turns out if you add colored m&m’s to the batter too soon, the reds and greens cannot stand up against the wet batter.  The colors dissolve and you are simply left with chocolate chip waffles.  Delicious? Yes!  Quite as appealing and festive?  Probably not!  Lesson Learned?  Check!

Holiday breakfast is served! If you squint, maybe you can spot the red and green.. ;-)

The rest of the day was spent watching football and creating a holiday feast! Christmas Eve dinner was hosted at my house this year and included myself, my husband, my parents and brother.  For the past few years, we have made a new tradition of having an italian feast and this year I stuck to the same theme for my first time hostessing.  Pan-fried Chicken Parmesan, Mozzarella and Bread Crumb Stuffed Mushrooms, Hot and Cheesy Lasagna, and Rich Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies were on the menu that I worked hard to prepare.  I wouldn’t say the meal was a “traditional” italian feast, but I find putting your own spin on recipes and adapting to your taste is what makes food special and appealing to you and your guests.

Bubbly Lasagna right out of the oven, made with four kinds of cheese
Crispy Panko breaded Chicken breast, pan fried and then baked at 350 for 20 minutes, topped with melted fresh mozzarella
The start of the show! Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies! Idea from my Pinterest, adapted from this recipe: http://sweetpeaskitchen.com/2011/02/01/red-velvet-cheesecake-brownies/
Check out that deliciousness! Next year there will be a double batch made.

The rest of the evening was spent enjoying each other’s company, reminiscing past Christmases and imagining what each new Christmas season will bring to our family.  It was only Christmas Eve though and we knew there was a lot more time still left during Christmas 2011, and we were looking forward to what was to come!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Time is Here…

Leave a Reply

