What’s to come in 2012?

Every year around this time, the same question is asked between family, friends and aquaintances.. What’s your New Year’s resolution?  January 1st marks a time for setting ambitious goals for the new year.  I find it interesting how we think so highly of ourselves and our ability to be great at the beginning of January, but as the months progress along, we slowly lose hope in ourselves.  I still plan to set goals this year, but I want to keep them attainable and use them as a way to better myself from the inside out.  Losing 5 pounds, making more money, or setting other tangible goals are great!  But this year I hope to work on the following:

My number one goal is to appreciate every moment I have with my two favorite men..

My husband and the newest edition to our family, Tebow!

 Since getting married in October, we have been on a non-stop whirlwind of traveling, moving, working and just being plane busy.  I hope to savor every moment of our first married year and to take the time to slow down and breathe.  Whether we are just eating dinner, going for a run, or watching tv together, I want to cherish these moments and make memories together each and every day.  

Our 12 week old pup, Tebow!

 We adopted this little guy Dec. 31st and I know he will grow so quickly!  He is such a lover and a cuddler right now, but I know eventually he will not be so easy to pick up.  I want to really enjoy his first year and watch him grow and learn.  The lab rescue we adopted him from said he was 12 weeks old, but they did not know his exact birthdate.  My brother looked to see when 12 weeks before the 31st was, and it was Oct. 8th, which is the same as Tim and mine’s wedding anniversary.  It felt like fate and we know Oct. 8th this year will be an even more important date in our house than we originally thought. 

Another goal this year has to do with this blog. 

After graduating from college, I knew I wanted to pursue my journalism major whether it be my full-time job, or a personal hobby.  Writing has always been very important to me, and very personal.  I never liked to share my writings with others as it has always been a sense of therapy for me.  Every time I would go through something in my life, I would write about it.  I hope this blog allows me to improve my writing skills while helping me to get over the fear of others reading my words.  I know every post may not be the best, or every word won’t be perfect, but I want to have fun with it and enjoy the opportunity.

Mimosa on my wedding day!

I also hope to laugh at myself every day and to remember that no life or person can be perfect!  I definitely have the tendency to be scared of making mistakes.  In 2012, I want to live and to not set so many rules for myself.  If I can’t work out a day I plan to, it’s okay!  If there are still a few dishes left in the sink at night, they will be there in the morning!  There are more important things in life than trying to be perfect, and I don’t want to miss a single second of life because of obsessive controlling.  I want to find a nice healthy balance in all areas of my life.

 
As always, I hope to be the best wife, puppy mom, daughter, sister, friend that I can be!  It’s the people that make life complete.  My hope for your new year is to not get caught up in the long-term, but to focus on the present.
 
Here’s to 2012 and what the year will bring!

My family bringing in the new year together. Good bye 2011, hello 2012!

 
Leave a Reply

