Winner Chicken Dinner

Well it seems like winter is finally here, making its first real appearance of the new year this evening.

 It was a high of 45 degrees today, but tomorrow it’s supposed to only get up to 25, with a low of 16.  Brrr!  I guess it’s time to get out the snow boots, sweaters and gloves.  We have been spoiled with spring like weather for weeks now, feeling more like April than the beginning of January!

Little Tebow was just as confused as we were!

Hey mom! This is snow?!

With the chill in the air, a hot dinner was definitely on the agenda.  I love taking recipe ideas from magazines and adapting ingredients and cooking styles to my preferences.  This recipe comes from the Chicken with Brussels Sprouts and Mustard Sauce in Cooking Light’s December 2011 issue.

Mustard Chicken with Brown Rice

Chicken Ingredients

3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

extra virgin olive oil

1 cup chicken broth

1 teaspoon honey

2 tablespoons stone ground mustard

1 tablespoon butter

salt and pepper

Rice Ingredients

1 3/4 cup chicken broth

2 cups rice

Chicken Directions

1)  Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

2)  Heat pan over high heat, then lightly drizzle olive oil around the pan.

3)  Salt and pepper both sides of chicken and add to pan.  Cover and cook 4-5 minutes each side until browned.

4)  Remove chicken and place on oven-safe baking rack.  Place baking pan under rack to catch drippings.

5)  Bake at 425 degrees for 12-20 minutes, depending on thickness of chicken.

6)  While chicken is baking whisk into chicken pan 1 cup broth, mustard, butter, and honey.  Bring to boil, then let simmer on low for 10 minutes.

7)  Optional – When chicken is finished, broil for 1-2 minutes until browned.  I love my chicken crispy and brown, just my preference!

Rice Directions

1)  Bring chicken broth to a boil.

2)  Add 2 cups of rice and bring to boil. 

3)  Move heat to low, cover and simmer for 5 minutes.

4)  Move from heat and let sit for 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork.

Build your plate with chicken and drizzle sauce over the top.  Serve alongside rice and a vegetable side, such as our frozen and microwaved green beans.

His and hers meals! I usually serve Tim's dinner on a slightly larger plate than my own, which helps me watch my portion sizes when dishing food out on my plate!

Questions for the Readers

1)  What is the weather like where you are?  Do you want the winter season, or would you happily skip to spring?

2)  I serve my meals on smaller plates than my husbands to watch my portion sizes.  What tricks do you use to keep yourself in check?

14 thoughts on “Winner Chicken Dinner

  1. Oh my gosh, I’ve vegan/vegetarian, but I could totally see myself making this dinner for my bf… yum!

    Ugh, here in Denver it’s COLD– snowed again yesterday! High of 30 tomorrow, I think? Brr! Being from Phoenix, I have to say I actually LIKE the cold, but I don’t like the snow/ice when I have to go out walking… I HATE slipping!

    I like the idea of his and her plates! Cute! Usually I just give myself one bowl/plate of food when he and I are together… he usually goes for seconds, and I stick with my one bowl, no matter how delicious it was! I tell myself my “seconds” are actually tomorrow’s lunch– since I hate waking up early to pack lunch, this works pretty darn well for me!

    • Wow! Phoenix to Denver is definitely a major weather change! I guess there are good and bad about either.. :-)

      I too love having leftover the next day for lunch! Knowing I can eat it again the next day if I want allows me to be stress free since I get to enjoy it again without guilt.

  2. this meal looks so delicious! you make it look so pretty too! i do the same thing to keep my portion size in check… he gets a large plate, i get an appetizer plate. he usually goes back for seconds (or thirds), and i remind myself that just because he goes back doesn’t mean i need to. afterall he weighs 70 more pounds than me and is a guy with a faster metabolism! ;)

    i’m loving the mild winter we’re still having here in utah. i’m definitely an arizona girl, so skipping to spring would be just fine by me! :)

    • That’s definitely something I tell myself too! He needs more food because he is a larger person than I am. If we ate the same, we would probably weigh the same too.. :-)

      I am ready for spring as well! Although the snow is gorgeous, it’s a lot more fun to look at through the window than actually stand outside in it!

  3. The meal looks beautiful Jana! I like how you aren’t afraid to a recipe and put your own spin on it!

    As for Columbus, it is very cold outside! I walked to the gym tonight and it was bitter!!! I definitely should have grabbed my scarf before heading out! Have a great Friday; it is almost a long weekend!!! :)

  4. No way! I’ve doing that exact same thing with plates/bowls. My husband just noticed today and asked me why I did it!!! Haha. I totally want to skip to spring. we have been getting PLENTY of snow in Denver!

  5. Hey! Just stumbled upon your blog and always love to find fellow health enthusiast! I too am in my 20’s, married, and trying to pursue my new passion for health by becoming a Nurse Practitioner! I Look forward to reading your blog!

    My husband and I recently moved from San Diego to NYC and I have to say I am pretty excited “Winter” has not come yet. According to people in NYC the weather has been abnormally warm, which is great for me!! San Diego never drops below 60 degrees, so anything below that feels like winter to me :) Hoping things stay somewhat warm in NYC!

    • Thanks for reading! That’s so awesome that you live in New York. I have only been once, but I absolutely loved it, however I am sure the winters are super rough! Plus coming from San Diego, the weather between the two cities is like night and day!

  6. We kind of skipped winter this year in NC. Its has been spring weather since fall and I am not complaining!
    I have a complex that I eat as much as my husband. I try and make him eat more food so I don’t have to eat any less but still not eat as much as my 200 lb husband. But the truth of it is I just need the calories right now and I need to be ok with that!

  7. Your winter photos are so beautiful! It’s similar here in Missouri – some light snow. The only thing I don’t like about it is that it’s keeping me on the treadmill for my run today – I don’t want to risk slipping on ice!

    I think I’m going to have to take up your idea of using a smaller plate than your husband. Whenever I eat with my boyfriend, I have wayyyy too much, probably because I’m trying to keep up with him and then feel stuffed after.

    • Thanks Michelle! Winter is so cold and dark sometimes, but I agree that the snow can be so beautiful! Ice on my running paths is definitely a fear of mine too. That’s one reason I was so excited to get my elliptical since I can now work out in the warm indoors. I am glad you liked the plate idea. I don’t do it everytime we eat, but I can definitely tell the difference after dinner when I use the small plate. I don’t feel near as stuffed as I do when the large plates are used!

Leave a Reply

