Have it Your Way

The weather man didn’t seem to lie this time, that’s for sure!  It was a freezing 18 degrees on Friday when we left the house in the morning.  Poor Tebow was so cold there wasn’t even any playing around when we took him out.  He did his business outside a lot quicker than normal though, so I guess there is a positive to everything!

No way will I sit still for a photo, it's way too cold!! Game's over, let me back inside!

As you may remember, I don’t have a gym membership at this time.  Since I received my treadmill however, I have really enjoyed getting up in the morning and working up a sweat while catching up on my favorite DVR shows.  Friday was one of those mornings I may have tried to talk myself out of running outside and fallen back asleep under my comfy covers.  Yet knowing the elliptical was downstairs in our warm house helped me to bound out of bed and down the steps to the machine a lot easier.  It also didn’t hurt that I had Gossip Girl recorded and waiting for me on the television.  I am so excited for the new shows to begin.  It worked out perfect to catch up on the last episode, I couldn’t even remember where the show left off!  Anyways, my workout consisted of a nice 22 minute warm up on the elliptical to get my heart pumping.  My effort looked like this:

Alternate minutes 1-5 on Resistance Levels 3 & 5

Alternate minutes 5-10 on Resistance Levels 5 & 7

Alternate minutes 10-20 on Resistance Levels 7 & 10

Cool Down on minutes 20-22 on Resistance Level 1

Following cardio was some at home pilates consisting of bicycles, leg lefts, lemon squeezers, etc.

My breakfast consisted of a favorite meal of mine that combines protein, whole grains and healthy fats.

 

Overnight Oats is one of the many meals I learned about through blogging.  It is so popular and seen on pretty much every blog I read, but it took me a long time to come around.  I didn’t like yogurt.  I didn’t like oats.  I didn’t think I liked natural peanut butter.  I put off trying it for a long time, but once I did, I loved the combination.  I also have surprisingly come to love all the ingredients separated too, if you can  believe that!  It’s amazing how our tastes change over time.

You can make overnight oats in so many ways.  Some people use flavored yogurt, others may use a different grain.  Some use less milk, some more.  Many people top with fruits, such as bananas or strawberries.  Another change can be the type of nutbutter used, like almond butter or cashew in place of peanut.  It’s a personal preference and finding the one you like best can be a fun and creative adventure. 

My favorite way goes like this:

Before you go to sleep, mix 4-6 ounces of Plain Greek Yogurt

Chobani Plain Greek Yogurt - My Favorite! 18 grams of protein in a 6 oz. cup. Only 7 grams of sugar!

1/4 cup Bob’s Red Mill Muesli

Ingredients include: rolled oats, wheat, rye, triticale, barley, almonds, date crumbles, raisins, sunflower seeds, and walnuts

1/2 cup Skim Milk, 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract.  Mix together and place in refrigerator.

Go to sleep and dream about breakfast in the morning!  It may not be a donut or a waffle, but it will still be delicious.  Plus your morning will start out on a healthy foot, which will set your attitude for the rest of the day.  Isn’t that something everyone dreams about?!

The next morning, rush down the stairs and get out your bowl.  Add an extra 1/4 cup milk and stir together.  Take your peanut butter out of the cupboard, (Yes, shocking!  I don’t put my peanut butter in the fridge.  I know it says to, but I hate how hard natural peanut butter gets when it solidifies in the cold.  It may be bad, but it tastes oh so good!  Again, this is a personal preference.  If you disagree, please pull your peanut butter out of the fridge instead.  Thanks! :-))

Creamy, salty and drippy.. Yummy!!

Moving on with the story, drip (or drop!), 2 tablespoons of Peanut Butter (I used Trader Joe’s, Creamy Salty) onto the top of the mixture.  Then finally take that first bite and grin!  It’s so good and almost makes you feel like you’re eating a dessert batter for breakfast.  You may find my way isn’t sweet enough for you, or that you prefer less milk, or that you like the chewiness of oats instead of the graininess of the muesli.  It’s all personal folks.  Play around with it and have fun!

The rest of Friday consisted of work and then a special dinner that ended in a sweet yet sour way!  Here’s a hint:  It is two desserts in one.  More color does not mean more delicious.  Fresh squeezed juice is the way to go! 

Questions for the Reader

What is a television show you follow regularly?  I would say for me it’s Gossip Girl, 90210, The Bachelor, and sadly (or not?!) Pretty Little Liars.

Do you have a unique addition to your overnight oats that makes your way extra special?

What was Friday night’s dessert?!

2 thoughts on “Have it Your Way

  1. Hi Jana! Thank you so much for the comment on my blog – I just started mine and am so excited when I get a comment, especially one as nice as yours :-)
    I just found yours a few days ago and love it! I think a lot of your ideas a philosophies (from a few posts ago) are the same as mine. I love your view of a healthy lifestyle.

    And it doesn’t hurt that your puppy is SO cute!

    Thanks for the easy overnight oats recipe! I’ve actually never tried it, but I might try this way that you describe. I’ve never seen the Bob’s Red Mill Muesli before – it looks yummy.

  2. Love the overnight oats! I just started eating it a few months ago and it’s so easy. Especially on mornings I workout… I just make it in a to-go container and grab it on my way to work :)

Leave a Reply

