A Fishy Situation

I know all about the health benefits that go along with eating fish.  Adding a couple servings of fish to your diet every week can reduce your risk of heart disease by a third or more.  Fish contains omega-3 fatty acids, which can help boost immunity, reduce blood clotting, and lower blood pressure.

The truth is though, I am just not a fish person!  The only time I have it is when I go on vacation to the beach. I enjoy ordering a fresh mahi mahi or tilapia once or twice a year, but that’s about as far as my fish eating goes.  Since I don’t eat fish very often, I get my omega-3 instead by adding a tablespoon of whole ground flaxseed to my morning cereal or oatmeal.

My husband, on the other hand, loves fish.  When I was digging through the freezer looking for a dinner idea, I noticed two small tilapia filets hiding at the bottom.  He bought them before I had moved in, so I put them in the fridge to thaw out and cooked him a special treat.

Lemon Pepper Tilapia

Ingredients

2 white fish filets (I chose Tilapia)

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

Mix together marinade and add fish filets to bowl.  Let sit for 5-10 minutes.

001

002

Over medium-high heat, place fish on grill pan and cook 3-5 minutes.  Turn fish to other side and cook additional 3-4 minutes until lightly browned and cooked through.

003

When fish is finished cooking, remove from pan and set aside.  Pour marinade into pan and bring to a boil for 3-4 minutes.

005

Place fish on plate and pour cooked marinade over fish.

009

Serve along a side, such as redskin potatoes, broccoli, rice, etc.  As much as I don’t like fish, I have to say this smelled so good and made me wish I felt otherwise.  So how did it taste?  Well, you’d have to ask my husband, but he sure seemed to enjoy it and absolutely cleaned his plate!

006

Questions for the Reader

What do you think about eating fish?  Love it / hate it?  What’s your favorite way to prepare it?,

The one time a year I have fish I like it grilled or blackened with fresh lemon wedges.

Is there a meal that your significant other loves, but you can’t stand to eat?

I would say fish is definitely #1 in my relationship!

10 thoughts on “A Fishy Situation

  1. Yum!! This looks like a great recipe – thank you! My boyfriend loves tilapia (he is picky so I’m always repeatedly making the things he DOES like) so we’ll definitely have to try this one.

    I’ve been meaning to get a grill pan like yours – it was on my Christmas list but since I didn’t get one I think I’ll use some of my Christmas money for one :-)

  2. I dont personally like the taste, texture, or smell of fish. Whenever my parents have fish, I have to leave the house because the smell makes me absolutely nauseaus.

Leave a Reply

