Peanut, Peanut Butter, withOUT Jelly

So it seems that Tuesday is the hardest day, at least in my opinion.  Usually Monday I am feeling fresh and motivated for a new week, Wednesday is the encouraging half way point, Thursday I am working for the weekend, and Friday I can almost taste my two days of freedom ahead.  Tuesday though is that strange in between time.  That newness of the week is now gone, and suddenly I realize I’m not even to the half way point yet. 

That’s why this morning I was so excited to find out via Self Magazine, that today is National Peanut Butter Day!  I missed my chance at breakfast, I had already eaten cereal with chopped walnuts and granola.  I had no peanut butter at work for a snack, and ate lunch out at a meeting.  Dinner was leftover Chicken Pot Pie I had frozen, so that left my last opportunity to be dessert!  I have really been watching my sugar intake and trying not to overindulge this week, so I decided to create my own recipe and make it slightly healthier than typical cookie recipes.

These cookies have a soft texture and are not overly sweet at all.  My cookie loving husband enjoyed these as well,asking me to keep them away from him so he doesn’t eat them all.  That response is how I know these little guys were a winner!

 

Peanut Butter & Oats Celebration Cookies

DSCN0651

Ingredients

1 cup natural peanut butter, bring to room temperature so peanut butter is runny

1/3 cup oats

1/3 cup flour

1/3 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

 

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Place all ingredients in mixing bowl.

DSCN0627 DSCN0630 DSCN0632 DSCN0637

Beat with a hand mixer until combined.  The texture will be almost crumb like.

DSCN0641 DSCN0642

Take two tablespoons of dough and form into a round cookie shape.  Repeat this until all the dough is gone.  This will make 10 cookies.

DSCN0644

Place on Baking Sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes until cookies are fluffy and cooked through.

DSCN0647

DSCN0650

Enjoy with a glass of milk, a cup of coffee, or some chocolate almond milk!

 

Questions:

 

What is your favorite peanut butter treat?

I absolutely love peanut butter ice cream from Graeter’s in a pretzel cone!  So so good!

 

Are you celebrating National Peanut Butter Day?!

17 thoughts on “Peanut, Peanut Butter, withOUT Jelly

  1. i wrote a post about national peanut butter day today too! :) it sure is a day worth celebrating! i LOVE me some peanut butter! your cookies look delicious! i honestly love peanut butter in/on any baked good… cookies, brownies, bars, cupcakes, muffins, you name it. heck i just love the stuff straight from the jar!

  2. Oh my gosh, these look so good! I love the addition of oats… I have a ton of oats to use up, so it looks like I’ll be making these cookies pretty darn soon! :)

    My favorite peanut butter treat is definitely old standby: peanut butter and banana on whole wheat bread! It’s a treat to me because I rarely have bananas left for a sandwich after my roommate eats her share and I blend mine into smoothies :)

    I definitely celebrated Natl. Peanut Butter Day! I had Peanut Butter and Co.’s Dark Chocolate PB with a banana! It was a good day :)

  3. Peanut butter cookies have some very fond memories for me. Adding the oats give them more texture and fiber. Look yummy. Grandma would have liked these too.

  4. I celebrated without even knowing! I’ve had both peanut butter and almond butter today! And I may just have to make a peanut butter dessert tonight as well! Why not? this day only comes once a year right? :)

  5. Pingback: Peanut Butter Lovin’

Leave a Reply

