IHOP’s Got Nothing on Me

Whenever I wake up on a Saturday morning, visions of brunch deliciousness begins dancing in my head.  Loaded veggie omelets, sweet buttermilk waffles, layered fruit and yogurt parfaits, and cinnamon brioche french toast comes to mind.  This morning I wanted that same brunch feeling without the massive amount of carbs and heavy fats that make up most brunch meals.  I also knew I didn’t want to be in a sugar coma for the rest of the day, and I wanted to pump up the protein level without sacrificing the satisfying flavors I love.

Before I start, I want to say that this meal is a winner!!  It may seriously be one of the best alternative meals I have ever created.  I wanted to try something new and creative, which resulted in an awesome combination of some of my favorite breakfast ingredients all rolled into one.  These protein pancakes turned out better than I even thought they would.  I loved the texture, taste, and filling fiber and protein these pancakes possessed.  The whole meal was pretty heavy in calories, but it was such a nutritional powerhouse that it kept me full for six hours.  It was a great way to satisfy my pancake craving, without sacrificing the healthy choice I wanted to start my day with.

I knew I wanted to use a carb other than flour.  I thought hard about what else I could use, and that’s when the idea hit me!  I had multigrain cereal in the cupboard, and thought I could grind that down into a flour texture.  From there, my version of protein pancakes was born..

 

Banana Pecan Protein Pancakes with Peanut Butter Almond Syrup

DSCN0728

Ingredients

Pancakes

1 cup Barbara’s Shredded Spoonfuls Multigrain Cereal

DSCN0697 1/4 cup pecans

1/2 banana

2 tablespoons Chobani Plain 2% Greek Yogurt

1 egg and 1 egg white

Topping

1/2 banana

1 tablespoon peanut butter

2 tablespoons Silk Pure Almond Milk

 

Directions

In a food processer, finely grind cereal and pecans until a flour like mixture is created.

DSCN0692

Add in banana, yogurt, egg and egg white to processor. 

DSCN0701

DSCN0702

Blend until smooth.

DSCN0705

Heat pan to medium-low heat.  Spray with cooking spray and add 1/3 cup mixture to pan.

DSCN0709 

Cook pancake for 3-4 minutes until lightly browned and lifts easily off pan.

DSCN0714

DSCN0711

Flip pancake to opposite side and cook for 3-4 minutes until lightly browned and fully cooked through.

DSCN0716

Plate pancakes.

DSCN0717

Top with other 1/2 of banana, sliced.

DSCN0724

Mix peanut butter and almond milk in small bowl, stir to combine.

DSCN0720

 DSCN0721

 DSCN0722

Microwave peanut butter and almond milk mixture for 40 seconds.

DSCN0725

Drizzle on top of pancakes and banana.

DSCN0726

 DSCN0727

DSCN0731

DSCN0729

I am so excited about this recipe!  It is a great way to sneak in protein and fiber while still feeling like you’re indulging.  There are so many ingredients that can be mixed and matched using this recipe as a base.  With all of the possibilities, I can’t wait to see what else can be created!

Questions:

 

What is your favorite source of protein?

What is your favorite brunch meal?

25 thoughts on “IHOP’s Got Nothing on Me

  1. What an awesome idea! My track record with pancakes is pretty pathetic… I seem to have a hard time getting the right consistency on my batter and as a result I end up with broken, crumbled disgusting pancakes. Love the substitutions you made though and will definitely give this a try!

  2. Pingback: National Cereal Day | meals & moves

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Lovin’

Leave a Reply

