South of the Border

It’s no secret that I love lasagna and how it consists of thick layers, soft noodles, and cheesy goodness.  The concept is simple: layer, repeat, layer, repeat, etc.  Why should this concept only be used for Italian fare?  Why not mix it up with a little south of the border flair?!  Just a disclaimer, this is not the healthiest meal I’ve ever made!  However, it does make for a nice treat, such as a laid-back Sunday night dinner with your significant other.  Pair a small slice with a couple of healthy, unprocessed sides, and enjoy!

 

Cheesy Mexican Casserole

DSCN0806

Ingredients 

I jalapeno

3 cloves garlic

1 pound lean ground beef

1 package taco seasoning

1 can cheese soup

1 can water

1/8 cup chopped cilantro

4-6 tortillas

Directions

Set oven to 350 degrees.

1)  Cut jalapeno in half.  Remove seeds and membrane from center.

DSCN0761 2) Finely dice jalapeno into tiny pieces.

DSCN0763 3)  Mince garlic.

4)  Heat pan over medium heat.  Lightly drizzle olive oil around the pan and add garlic and jalapeno.  Cook 3-5 minutes.

DSCN0765

5)  Add in ground beef and cook until browned.  Drain grease as needed.

DSCN0768

6)   Add in taco seasoning…

DSCN0770 7) …and Cheese Soup.

DSCN0772

8)  Fill soup can with water.  Add to mixture, stir, and bring to a boil.

DSCN0773

DSCN0792

9)  Stir in chopped cilantro.

DSCN0775

10)  Add 1 tortilla to dish.

DSCN0793 11)  Add 1/3 meat mixture on top of tortilla.  Then add another tortilla, mixture, tortilla, mixture.

DSCN0796 12)  Top with one last tortilla and place in oven.

DSCN0797

13)  Bake for 20 minutes.  Then broil on high 1-2 minutes until top tortilla is golden brown.

DSCN0802

14)  Let cool for 5-10 minutes, then cut into slices.  I served alongside homemade beans, (recipe to come!!), and romaine lightly drizzled with fresh lime juice.  I topped the casserole with a dollop of sour cream and a few pieces of cilantro to garnish.

DSCN0803

DSCN0805

Ole!

 

Questions:

Do you like Mexican food?  If so, what is your favorite dish to order or make?

 

How do you balance out a meal or entree that may be heavier in calories, or more processed, than the meals you usually eat?

20 thoughts on “South of the Border

  1. This looks so yummy! I love making fajitas, shrimp, chicken or steak with lots of peppers and onions inside. Although, I might have to try this now. Just wondering – do you have stainless steel cookware? I registered for it but have only ever used non-stick, is it easy enough to break in and use on a daily basis?

    • I love fajitas too!! I received the Calphalon Tri-Ply stainless cookware for my bridal shower! I do love it, but I am not going to lie, it takes some getting used to. I find the pans get so much hotter than ones I have used before, so it is hard to find that perfect consistency. I have yet to make a perfect egg in this pan!! They are awesome though, and should last me for a very long time!

  2. This looks amazing – I’m definitely keeping this recipe on hand for when I have someone to cook for other than myself ;). I’m addicted to mexican food, but I never really try to make it myself strangely enough.

Leave a Reply

