It’s February?!

Wow!  I just want to thank you all for the overwhelming support of my new fitness plan!  It means a lot knowing I’m not the only one who struggles with finding that balance in life.  It is definitely something I work on daily, but it is amazing how far I have come since my battle was at its worst.  I was really nervous to share such a personal conflict I had emotionally in the past, but you guys rock and the support was so encouraging! I am very excited to get started on the plan, in fact I already began on Sunday!  I will check in with how I am feeling, what I am learning, and what I am doing regarding my exercise.  Stay tuned!

Well I don’t know about where you live, but here in Ohio the weather is incredible.  It felt more like the beginning of May than February today, reaching temperatures in the 60’s!  It was definitely a lot harder to be cooped up at work all day than it usually is in the winter when temps are in the teens and single digits.  As soon as I got off work though, I knew exactly what was in store!

021 Family Walk!

We had such a good time on our walk. The weather was perfect and Tebow walked the furthest he has ever gone.  We were so proud of our boy.. :-)

022

When we started, the sky was gorgeous and clear.  Bright blue just like a summer day!

025

 026

As we were on our way back, the sun was just starting to set..

027

 

It was such a gorgeous night.  The above picture was my absolute favorite.  Seeing this really helped to remind me that myself and my issues are so small in the grand scheme of things.  Sometimes it helps to soak in the moments and appreciate all you have.  I had my health, my family and gorgeous weather during this moment..  Perfect! :-)

Another thing that made me thankful?  Having healthy ingredients to use for making dinner, which was super easy and nutritious! 

 

Spaghetti Squash with Marinara

Ingredients

1 Spaghetti Squash

DSCN0826

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut squash in half and remove seeds.

DSCN0830

DSCN0831

Place squash on pan, face down.  This way the heat will steam the meat of the squash.

DSCN0832 Bake for 55 minutes.

Remove from oven and turn squash over.

DSCN0850

Use fork to shred squash into spaghetti like strands.

DSCN0851Add to plate and add heated store-bough marinara sauce to squash.  We went with Newman’s Naturals, which actually had added sugar, which is something I will try and skip next time I do my grocery shopping.

Grill Pan Pork Tenderloin

Ingredients

1 lb. pork tenderloin

salt & pepper

1 tsp. extra virgin olive oil

Directions

Salt and pepper the outside of the tenderloin, to taste.

Over medium heat, add olive oil to grill pan and place tenderloin into pan, seasoned side down.  Season other side.

DSCN0838

 DSCN0844

Grill 5 minutes then rotate to other side, grilling an additional 5 minutes.

DSCN0845

Turn pork onto sides, grilling for another 3 minutes on each side.

DSCN0861 

Remove pork from pan and slice into 1/2 inch slices using a chef’s knife.  Add slices back to pan, still on medium heat, for 3 minutes on each side or until pork is only slightly pink.

DSCN0866

Serve pork as the main course to your spaghetti squash.  My husband was skeptical of the squash at first, but he said it wasn’t too bad!  I warned him that it is most definitely not spaghetti, so don’t even think of it in that way!.  He added a little cheese on top of his marinara sauce as well.  The squash pretty much takes the flavor of whatever you put on it, so the marinara worked well.

DSCN0868 On my small plate.. :-)

DSCN0869

DSCN0872

Questions:

What’s the weather like where you are?  In what ways are you taking advantage of the sunshine?

What is your favorite spaghetti squash sauce, or add in?  Any tips for serving it to spaghetti squash newbies?

Tell me something you were blessed with today! :-)

40 thoughts on “It’s February?!

  1. Love spaghetti squash! I just made it for the first time this year and have just used it as pasta with some tomato sauce. The weather has been the same here in MO and I’m loving it! I have left work as soon as school is out the past couple days to get home and walk the puppy!

    • Yay for puppy walks!.. :-) I have only had it with a marinara based sauce too. I love spaghetti and marinara, which is one of my favorites, so this is a great healthy alternative! Next time I need a sprinkle of parmesan cheese though!

  2. I love spaghetti squash! It is a definite staple for me. I love to make one on Sunday afternoon to eat over the next couple of days! It is really good with other veggies added to it with the pasta sauce!!!! :)

  3. The weather has been unseasonably warm in PA, too! Of course I love it, but it’s tricking me into thinking winter is almost over when it certainly isn’t!

    I really like spaghetti squash but haven’t made it lately… I’ll have to add it to my dinner rotation!

  4. It was about 72 today in NC – it makes it so hard to stay inside during the day! I like spaghetti squash too, but everytime I make it so much goes to waste (and I hate wasting food).

  5. I am in delaware right now for school and the weather is SO warm! Today is was about 65 degrees and sunny! I was looking for a day drink party to go to lol typical college student..I really hope this nice weather lasts!

  6. Weather in CA is pretty sweet. 50’s and 60’s all around.

    I LOVE spaghetti squash! I’ve seen STSL mix in some veggies and other add-ins with the cooked squash, put it back in the “shell” with some cheese and bake it some more. It was really yummy like that!

  7. This weather is incredible. It makes you very anxious for spring when we really haven’t had winter yet.

    I have never really been a squash fan, however, your plate looked beautiful with the color of the sauce on the squash. What does it taste like? I am not a mushy vegetable lover.

    • It actally doesn’t taste like much and takes on the flavor of the sauce in this dish. If you don’t overcook the squash, it’s really not mushy at all. It still has a bite to it, and I say this while eating my leftovers for lunch. This is even after microwaving :-)

    • Thank you! That means a lot coming from you :-) I think the biggest trick I can give is to not overcook the squash. I baked mine for 55 minutes at 350 degrees, but my oven is also not new so it’s not as hot. I would probably recommend 45-55 minutes depending on how hot your oven is.

  8. Wow, gorgeous photos from your walk! Hope you keep enjoying the beautiful weather. :-)

    I absolutely love using spaghetti sqaush instead of pasta, but I haven’t been able to find any spaghetti squash in England! You’ve motivated me to start looking again – thanks!

    ~Emily~

  9. Hi gorgeous!!! What a wonderful day you had over there!!! Here it is grey, kinda ok temps, and thankfully it isn’t raining like it usually does here in Vancouver!!!

    Your meal looks AMAZING!! I love spaghetti squash with a passion!

    xxoo

    • Wow, 75?! That sounds amazing! You could even dine outside on a gorgeous day like that.. in February, hard to believe!

      Definitely give the squash a shot! It was really easy, plus it was so cheap! I think the whole squash cost about $1.60. This was great the first time I tried it because if I didn’t like it, I definitely didn’t lose much $! :-)

  10. Pingback: ‘Clean Out the Fridge’ Pizza « Newly Wife Healthy Life

Leave a Reply

