Not-Refried Beans

As much as I love shredded pork tacos, chicken quesadillas, vegetable fajitas, and loaded nachos, in reality one of my favorite Mexican dishes comes on the side.  In my opinion, refried beans are so delicious in fact that I enjoy them more than I even do my entree sometimes.  On Sunday night when I made Cheesy Mexican Casserole, I knew the meal was going to be a little heavier than usual.  Because of this, I wanted to make sure my side dishes were unprocessed and full of nutrients.  Knowing beans are a must have every time I eat Mexican cuisine, I decided to ditch the can opener this time in place of the real deal.  Let me tell you, it couldn’t have been simpler!  Only 3 ingredients, and no added fat, made these beans a real winner!  This is perfect as a side dish, the main protein of a meal, or even a yummy dip.

 

Slow Cooker Pinto and Black Beans

DSCN0807

Ingredients

1 30 oz. can Pinto Beans

1 14.5 oz can Black Beans

1 tablespoon Taco Seasoning (Feel free to choose low sodium if you wish!)

Directions

Add pinto beans to slow cooker.

DSCN0744

Include black beans and…

DSCN0746 …sprinkle in taco seasoning.  Stir all ingredients.

DSCN0749 Set slow cooker on high for 4 hours, stirring once every hour, (or, set on low for 7 hours).

DSCN0751

When timer goes off, stir leave on warm setting for 30-60 minutes.

DSCN0784 Now is the fun part!  Use a potato masher to mash beans.  You could also use a food processor if you like your beans smoother, but I prefer mine a little chunkier.  I like to know it’s homemade!

DSCN0788 I wish there was a way to make this more attractive!  Ha ha but let’s be honest, it’s impossible to make smashed beans look appetizing.  :-)  Just believe me though, they taste delicious!

DSCN0804

19 thoughts on “Not-Refried Beans

  1. I agree the beans are usually my favorite over everything else. These look fantastic. Adding some chunky salsa and a little sour cream. Yum..

Leave a Reply

