Not What You Think

Hey everyone!  Happy Saturday! :-)

I hope everyone’s weekend is going great so far.  Last night was a great time with great friends.  We had two couples over and enjoyed catching up and cracking up all night long.  I love being a hostess, and we try to have people over to our home as much as we can.  Sometimes we may not have a reason, but we come up with an excuse anyways to have a party.  Of course, there was also a lot of yummy food.  There was enough to feed more like 15 people than six, but it’s better to have too many goodies than not enough!  Along with chick-fil-a nuggets, kale and sweet potato chips, Greek yogurt ranch dip, riesling, beer, and…015Lite All Natural Kettle Corn

016 

014 Fresh tortilla chips with a layered taco dip, including un-refried beans, sour cream, salsa, and fresh grated sharp cheddar cheese.

017 Fresh veggies and spinach dip.

035and  Cookie Dough!!

Yep, cookie dough!  Not your traditional Toll House kind though. I used Katie’s ‘Cookie Dough’ recipe, altered it a touch, and served it as a dip.  I am not going to lie, I was highly skeptical at first.  The idea of using chickpeas as the base made me very nervous, especially the fact I was serving it to guests.  But this recipe turned out great and no one would have ever guessed there was a secret ingredient if I hadn’t told them!

Cookie Dough Dip

Ingredients

1 can chickpeas (drained and rinsed)

4 teaspoons vanilla

1/4 cup almond milk

1/3 cup peanut butter

2/3 cup brown sugar (I probably could have gotten away with 1/3 cup, but I wanted to use 2/3 since I was serving it to guests)

2/3 cup chocolate chips (Again, I added extra chips since I was serving it to guests)

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions

Place chickpeas, vanilla and almond milk in a food processer.  Blend until smooth.

031 Add all the rest of the ingredients, except the chocolate chips, and blend until smooth and combined.

033 Stir in chocolate chips and refrigerate.  I find the dip tastes better the colder it is and the longer it sits.

037

I served it with dippers including vanilla wafers and shortbread cookies.  It would also be delicious with graham crackers, bananas, strawberries, or just simply on a spoon!

It’s also great the next day as a breakfast topping!

Cookie Dough Oatmeal

Ingredients

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 cup water ( I added 1 cup, but it was a touch too much!)

Pinch of Salt

1/4-1/3 cup cookie dough dip

Directions

Add oats, almond milk, water, and salt in a bowl.  Mix and microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds.  Stir, microwave for an additional 1 minute and stir.

Top with cookie dough and enjoy!

021

I am going to be honest, I don’t consider the way I made my dip to be healthy.  There is quite a bit of sugar involved, which includes the chocolate chips and brown sugar.  However, it also includes protein and fiber from the chickpeas and healthy fats and additional protein from the peanut butter.  This is a great way to treat yourself and indulge, while still being better than taking a spoon to refrigerated, store bought cookie dough.  So enjoy in moderation.. :-)

Questions:

Have you ever tried Katie’s cookie dough recipe, or a similar kind?  Feel free to link up your favorites!

How do you feel serving ‘healthified’ recipes to guests?

For me, it’s one thing to make a dish using skim milk, or less butter, but it’s another thing entirely to try and pass off chickpeas as cookie dough!!

12 thoughts on “Not What You Think

  1. The cookie dough dip looks fantastic! I have tried several of Katie’s recipes (Raw Chocolate Mint Fudge Brownie, Chocolate Raspberry Fudge) and they were delicious. I am definitely going to make the cookie dough dip at some point, I just need to find a special occasion :)

  2. How did the guests respond to the cookie dough? Were they surprised at the ingredients? It sounds interesting for sure, especially when I know you are not a big chickpea fan.

Leave a Reply

