Stocking Up

Monday already?!  Let’s get the week started!

But first, here’s a quick recap of the weekend.

Friday night we hosted friends at our house, and Saturday was filled with exercise, fun and food with my husband!

Saturday morning I continued working on my exercise goals and went on a 2.25 mile run, in the rain!  When I checked the outside weather through the window, it didn’t look like it was raining, but maybe misting at the most.  However, by the time I was dressed and headed out the door the rain was coming down pretty hard.  At this point though I had already made my mind up and didn’t want to back out, so I added a sweatshirt with a hood, bundled up in an extra jacket layer and took off.

Once I was out and running, the cold, wet rain wasn’t as bad as I thought.  It was worse starting out since I was facing the wind, but heading back was a lot easier.  The only thing I wish I would have worn that I didn’t was a hat so the bill could have kept the water off of my face.  I wore a pair of running leggings from Target that my mom got me for Christmas and they were awesome!  The pants did a great job at wicking the rain and keeping my legs warm and dry.  I love Target’s workout clothes and definitely recommend taking a look if you never have!  I have a few shirts, a tank top and a couple pairs of shorts. I actually think the quality is pretty comparable to more expensive brands such as Nike or Under Armour.

After my run, I knew I only had a little bit of time to eat and shower before I had to be at my hair cut appointment at 11.  So I had a quick breakfast of cookie dough oatmeal before I headed out to get some long layers added to my hair..

021 After getting my hair cut, Tim and I decided to head out for a fun lunch and grocery shopping adventure, just the two of us.  We ended up at The Polo Grille for a quick bite to eat.

025As you can see, we had The Polo Grille basically all to ourselves.  The weather was rainy and cold Saturday, plus we went at an awkward time about 2:30, so it was nice to have quick service and an extra attentive waitress.

022

The menu was filled with an assortment of gourmet, ethnic and classic American fare.  This included Tandoori Chicken Pizza, Grilled BBQ Chicken, Carnitas, Lamb Burger, and a Spiced Pecan and Gorgonzola Salad.  Tim went with the Panko Breaded Fish and Chips, and I personally love tasting plates and decided to try a few small dishes.027

 Chop House Salad – mixed greens, tomatoes, cucumber, bacon, deSha’s creamy herb dressing

028 Yucca Fries

029

Butternut Squash Risotto

I had the whole salad, which was pretty decent.  I liked the addition of the cabbage, because it gave it an extra crunch.  The dressing was decent and the salad was fresh, but a few more tomatoes and cucumbers would have helped bulk up the shredded iceberg.

I had about half of each of the other two sides.  The Yucca fries were pretty good, very crunchy (which of course probably means fried more than once), but a tad over cooked.  I was hoping they would be more baked than fried, and was looking for a healthier option when I ordered them.  I try not to order fried food very often, but once I started eating them I was thankful they were yummy and worth the extra calories.  However, I didn’t care for the dipping sauce that was served on the side at all.  There was a spice in it I couldn’t pinpoint and wasn’t really feeling.  Luckily though plain old ketchup did the trick and went with the yucca perfectly.  The risotto was very creamy, but I would have preferred chunks of butternut squash to be included throughout rather than pureed and then added.  The meals overall though were pretty decent and I could see us going back there.  My husband loved his fish and thought the panko breading was a nice change over a typical heavy beer batter.

After lunch we headed to Costco to purchase a membership and do a little shopping.  After Meghan told me she got a Vitamix there for less than $400, I knew we needed to check it out.

We were able to stock up on organic beef, natural chicken, ground turkey, Kashi Go Lean Crunch, Quaker Oatmeal Squares, Lime La Croix, and a 4 pound bag of quinoa for about half of what you would pay at the regular grocery store.  Hint, you will probably be seeing some creative quinoa dishes coming to the blog soon!  I can definitely see how you could go overboard buying in bulk, but the good news is we should only need to buy milks, produce, and a few pantry staples for the next couple of months.  We plan on seeing how long the food lasts us and how much money we seem to be saving by purchasing in bulk.

Whole Foods was just down the road, so of course we had to stop there on the way home.  A few purchases included organic spinach and bananas, whole wheat bread and english muffins, and about 1/2 a pound of ground turkey breakfast sausage.

Heading home, we spotted a Menchie’s and swung in for a little fro yo.

030 Cake Batter and Vanilla fro yo with crushed oreos, graham crackers, and strawberries.

We spent the rest of Saturday night just enjoying our time at home and cuddling with Tebow, who missed us when we were gone.

Sunday afternoon we headed over to my parent’s for a little Super Bowl Sunday snacks, and the game of course.  We went a healthier route and faux fried a ‘sampler’ appetizer platter that included chicken tenders, mozzarella sticks, and onion rings.  We dipped all ingredients into flour, then egg, and then a panko bread/parmesan cheese mix.

001

002

003

They were then baked for 25 minutes at 350 degrees, and broiled for 2-3 minutes. If you like extra color and crunch, I would recommend pan frying before baking.  We wanted to keep these nice and light though so if you broil at the end of your cook time the breading will get crunchy and browned, similar to pan frying without the added fat.

005 We enjoyed watching the game at my parents’ and I loved soaking in the comforts of home for a few hours.  There’s nothing like going back home to visit and feeling like a kid for a few hours.  There’s also nothing like enjoying your mom’s cooking, because  the taste can send your senses straight back to childhood with just one bite.

 

Questions:

What was the best thing you ate this weekend?

What was your favorite Super Bowl commercial?

Are you a member of Costco?  If so, what are the best deals you find, and what are your favorite things to buy?

21 thoughts on “Stocking Up

  1. I had fro yo yesterday too it was so delicious!! The best thing I ate this weekend was either the fro yo or a healthier buffalo chicken dip I made yesterday for the game! My roommate is a member of costco but I’m seriously obsessed! We buy a few items in bulk that we know we’ll eat a lot of..sabra hummus, chicken, carrots, spinach (2lb bag baby), pita chips, pretzels..but yes its very easy to get carried away there! especially since they offer so many samples!

  2. Chris & I don’t have a Costco membership, but we are members at a similar “buy-in-bulk” store. We’ve actually only been there once (it’s hard for us to find the time to actually GO) but we were amazed at the deals & actually had a lot of fun shopping there! We sort of run into a problem with storage though, because we live in a 1-bedroom apartment! I’m pretty sure I still have a giant box of baked chips in our coat closet! :-)

  3. I have never tried making Yucca fries but I really want to! They look splendid m’dear :) And my gram is a Costco member so I look forward to going there when I am with her. I just love that store so so much… a foodie/bargainer heaven :)

  4. That fro-yo looks delish. So does your healthified “fried” foods! I think the best thing I ate this weekend was the amazing cupcake I had on Friday night :D. I didn’t really watch much of the super bowl- I just can’t get into it haha.

  5. sounds like a great weekend girl! i love your healthier approach to cooking the onion rings, mozzarella sticks, and chicken tenders. my husband and i have a costco membership and love it! at first we didn’t know if we’d benefit from it since there’s only the two of us, but we kept track of our expenses there after awhile and compared to it to the regular grocery store and realized we do save. we buy all of our paper products there, water softener salt, dog food, bread, milk, soy milk, yogurt, and some meat there. other stuff we realized are cheaper for us elsewhere.

  6. Love the appetizers. It was perfect football food. It will be interesting to hear your experience with the bulk purchasing. I am never sure if I really save money overall. I will do a better job of tracking my purchases the next time I buy in bulk. With the price of meat rising, I am sure your meat purchase will save you money in the long run with creative cooking ideas.

Leave a Reply

