Ch Ch Ch CHIA

The first thing that comes to mind when you think of Chia Seeds may be this:

Let’s be honest.. how many of you or your parent’s had a Chia Pet?!  I never did, but I remember always secretly hoping I would get the Chia Scooby as a birthday gift when I was a kid.. ;-)

(Source)

Up until a few months ago that is the first thought that popped into my mind too!  Now I see this:

011 - Copy (4) Breakfast!

Chia Seeds are an awesome source of fiber, fatty acids, proteins, vitamins and antioxidants.  It is also the richest source of Omega-3 fatty acids among non-marine whole food items. (Source)

I love adding a teaspoon or half a tablespoon of Chia Seeds to yogurt, oats, smoothies and cereals.  It does a great job of plumping up and creating voluminous meals when the seeds are soaked in a liquid.  Chia Seeds are amazing in over night oats and can thicken up a smoothie in a pinch!  These small, but mighty seeds are the perfect super food and I try to incorporate them into my diet as much as possible.  Since I don’t eat fish very often, this is the best way for me to get in my always important Omega-3’s.  Here is a nutrient packed, and very filling breakfast that I enjoyed, which was filled with a variety of delicious ingredients including chia.

Peanut Butter Banana Chia Oats

Base Ingredients

1/2 cup oats

1 1/2 cups water

1 tablepoon flax seed

1/2 tablespoon chia seeds

Directions

Put all ingredients into microwave safe bowl.

005 - Copy (3) Mix ingredients. 006 - Copy (5)

Cover with plastic wrap.  Microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds.  Stir. 

007 - Copy (5)Microwave for an additional 1 minute while keeping an eye on the bowl to prevent mixture from bubbling over the sides.  Thanks to the Chia Seeds, you should have a voluminous and fluffy bowl of oats!

008 - Copy (3) Let’s talk toppings!

1/2 very ripe banana, mashed

009 - Copy (3) 1-2 tablespoons all natural creamy peanut butter

010 - Copy (4) 1 teaspoon Nutella.

011 - Copy (4)The nutella + banana adds the perfect amount of sweetness.  There is no need to add any other sweeteners to this bowl!

012 - Copy (4)

Questions:

Have you ever had Chia Seeds before?  If so, what do you think?  How do you incorporate them into your meals?

Who has ever owned a Chia Pet?!  Be honest! Ha :-)

28 thoughts on “Ch Ch Ch CHIA

    • I bought them at Whole Foods in the bulk bin. I would suggest doing that initially if you want to try them, that way if you don’t like them you aren’t stuck with a huge bag. That’s what I did :-) I can’t remember what I paid, but I believe a 16 oz bag can range from $6-$9.

  1. Hahahah!!! I love chia seeds, but they totally remind me of the Bart Simpson heads you can get from the store at christmas and grow his hair ;)

    This recipe looks AMAZING!! What a hearty way to start your day!!

    xxoo

    • I bought mine from the bulk bins at whole foods, that way I could just try a little before I committed to a big bag! I believe a 16 oz bag can range from $6-$9 though, but that is a lot of chia seeds and will last you a very long time!

Leave a Reply

