No Occasion Needed

Having steak on a weeknight is as rare to some as having cereal at brunch is to me. Steak is supposed to be one of those meals that is saved for a special occasion, perhaps a romantic night out or a celebratory meal at home. I know I have a lot of vegetarian, vegan, and non-red meat eaters out there, (and I love you all!!), but I personally enjoy lean steak and other types of beef. It’s a great way to mix up the usual chicken breast dinner, and it’s a nice treat for my husband who was served spaghetti squash and kale all in the same week! Sorry honey! We have only been married four months, so I aim to please. Especially because I think half the reason he married me is for my cooking.. ;-)

Steak is also super easy to make.  With a good cut, it doesn’t take much to prepare the meat so that it will taste great. From start to finish, not counting the marinating time, this meal only took me roughly 30 minutes to prepare. Tim took Tebow on a quick walk around the neighborhood while I prepared dinner, put away the clean dishes, and tackled the now dirty ones in the sink. By the time he made his way back home, dinner was ready and he was happy!

Mesquite Marinated Flank Steak

DSCN0905

Ingredients

1 1/2 pounds flank steak

1 tablespoon olive oil (I used my Misto to spray steak)

1/2 package of mesquite seasoning packet (I used a McCormick Grill Mates packet)

Directions

Oil steak and rub with seasoning.  Place in a ziplock bag in the fridge for at least one hour (I did about 9 hours).

Heat grill pan on medium-high heat.  Cook steak for 2-3 minutes on each side.

DSCN0896

Let rest 5-10 minutes and then cut into strips.

DSCN0897

I served the steak along with cubed roasted yukon gold potatoes and a broccoli/cauliflower mix.  I sprayed veggies with olive oil and simply sprinkled on salt and pepper. 

DSCN0890 I then roasted at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and broiled on high 2-3 minutes.

DSCN0901

DSCN0904

DSCN0905

Questions:

What is a meal you make that both you and your significant other love?

How often, if ever, do you eat steak or other red meats?

26 thoughts on “No Occasion Needed

  1. This look awesome! My fiancé loves a great steak and potatoes meal (born and raised in Ireland, makes senses!) but I def don’t zoom it enough. Guess I should follow your suit if I want to be a good wife! Haha

  2. No significant other for me – but I don’t eat beef anyways. It can be really awkward when I go to someones house and they serve me beef – I try to be polite and taste it, but I just don’t like it.

    • I actually used to love steak more than I do now when I was a kid. I was a competitive gymnast, working out all the time, and starving because of it! I could put down a 16 oz prime rib at the age of 8! lol Obviously not the healthiest route, but boy did I love it!

  3. Your steak preparation looks great! Although I live in LA now and I don’t have as much time to cook with a busy work schedule, I was born and raised in Missouri, the land of living on meat and potatoes! So, of course I love steaks! I probably eat red meat once per week now, and usually when I am home in Missouri to visit for the holidays!

  4. i rarely make steak because of its pricetag, and also because i’m not a huge steak lover. like you said, i usually save it for special occasions or when we go out to eat. i should make it some time for the hubby as a “just because” though… i know he’d love it since i rarely make it!

  5. I haven’t eaten steak or red meat in quite a while – at least a month – which is odd for me because I LOVVEEEEE steak so much. Gotta get some this weekend I think!

  6. Looks very good. I have never been a big fan of roasted broccoli. Maybe I need to try again. Those yukon gold potatoes are so buttery tasting and yummy. I am hungry now.

Leave a Reply

