Food is Love

Call me sappy, but I absolutely love Valentine’s Day.  Sure it may be a Hallmark holiday.  Yes, I think we should show show those around us how much we love them every day, not just once a year.  However, sometimes life gets busy and you don’t get that chance to make your significant other feel special every time you’re together.  I love being reminded to show my husband how much I love him and seeing how much he loves me.  This is our 7th Valentine’s Day together, and each one gets better than the one before.  Last year was our first, and only, as an engaged couple.  We had big plans to go out to a romantic dinner, but that date was postponed to the weekend due to a stomach bug.  Instead of dining on filet and sipping on a glass of wine, I was feeding him saltines and Gatorade just hoping he could keep it down.  Not the romantic night we had planned, but all that really mattered was that we were together.  Besides, what better way to show someone you love them than by taking care of them when sick.

This is our first married Valentine’s Day together and we have some fun plans this week!  We actually began the holiday Saturday at breakfast with a fun treat, so look for a festive recipe tomorrow!  Until then, I thought it would be fun to post some of the most delicious treats I have seen, that may be perfect to make in celebration.  Whether you love or despise V-Day, if these recipes taste as good as they look, I am sure you would love these meals & sweets!

Valentine’s Day Donuts (Baked Chocolate Glazed Vanilla Doughnuts) by A Cup of Sugar…A Pinch of Salt

Engagement Scampi by Eat Live Run

cimg1178.JPG

Crockpot Stuffed Chicken Breasts with Spinach, Roasted Red Pepper, Parmesan and Goat Cheese by How Sweet it Is

Steak with Burgundy Mushroom Sauce by The Pioneer Woman

TPW_9909

Bistro Roast Chicken by Cooking Light Magazine

Recipe for Two: French-inspired Bistro Roast Chicken

Red Velvet Cheesecake Cupcakes by Sweet Pea’s Kitchen

(This is the only recipe listed I have made and these were incredible!!  I made them for Christmas Eve and they were a huge hit!)

Valentine’s Day Candy Bark by Gingerbread Bagels

Chocolate Turtle Cake by Sugar Plum

Death by Chocolate Martini by The Neely’s

Picture of Death by Chocolate Martini Recipe

Questions:

How do you feel about Valentine’s Day?  Like or Dislike?

What’s more romantic:  Being taken out to dinner or having dinner cooked for you?

15 thoughts on “Food is Love

  1. Dislike the whole hallmark aspect of v-day, but LOVE these recipes! Think I’ll try the turtle cake. Thanks! This is our first valentines together as an engaged couple but I don’t think that really means anything! Getting flowers on random days is sonmch more special for me. Happy Monday!

  2. I love Valentine’s Day – I’ve never seen any reason not to! You get candy and get to tell people how much you love them! I even loved it all the years I was single!

    Those recipes are making me hungry!

Leave a Reply

