Vow to Start Monday on a Healthy Note

Happy Monday!

I hope you all had a great weekend.  Mine was filled with a lot of activity, fun and love!  Tim and I dropped Tebow off at Tim’s parent’s house Saturday afternoon and then he and I headed off on an adventure of our own.  Due to the amount of rooms booked at a hotel by our wedding guests, we actually received a free night in a suite for future use.  We decided to take advantage of it in celebration of Valentine’s Day and booked it for Saturday night.  We also went to dinner, the mall, and later went to the movies.

We saw The Vow, and although I had heard some mixed reviews on the movie, I actually liked it a lot.  Rachel McAdams is just too cute, and her sparkle definitely made the movie.  Just like in The Notebook, the movie just wouldn’t stand up to it’s potential without her in it.

(Source)

I don’t want to share too much for those who haven’t seen the movie, but the message really resonated with me.  There is no reason to think about “what could have been,” or wish that you could do-over your life. 

(Source)

The truth is that you made decisions that have led you to where you are, and if you could re-do things, you may realize why you made those decisions in the first place and end up making them again.  I know that sometimes I  do catch myself wondering what if, but the truth is it doesn’t do me any good!  I need to always find happiness about where I am at in life, be thankful for what I have, and be proud of the accomplishments I have made up to this point.

Yesterday I decided to unplug for the day and step away from the computer.  I think we all need that sometimes, to be reminded to give our body and our mind what it needs.  After such a busy and indulgent week, it felt nice to shut off my brain for the night so I could start this week out feeling refreshed and ready to go.

Speaking of indulgent, here’s to starting out Monday on a healthy note!

1)  Hydrate

IMG_0312

IMG_0311

2)  Exercise

IMG_0313

While catching up on Gossip Girl.  Best way to get my butt out of bed:  Knowing I have my favorite shows to watch!

3)  Healthy Breakfast

IMG_0316

Overnight Oats:  2/3 cup Chobani 2% Plain, 2/3 cup non-fat milk, 1/2 cups Quaker Oats, 1 tablespoon Chia Seeds

IMG_0317

Topped with sliced Strawberries.  Purchased on sale, 2 packages for $3.  They tasted great too!  Sweet and ripe.

IMG_0318

I hope your Monday sets a healthy and positive tone for the rest of the week.

Reads to Start your Day:

10 Ways to Feel Good Every Day

Exercise Less (But More Intensely)

Go On A No-Deprivation Diet

Surround Yourself with Flowers

..Read on :-)

Plate of the Union:  The Picky Presidential Palate

Which President would you have most liked to join for dinner, based on their menu?  I think Ronald Reagan won me over.  Pumpkin Pecan Pie?  Monkey Bread?  Sounds like a delicious time to me!

 

Questions:

Have you seen The Vow?  If so, what are your thoughts on the movie?

Do you ever think about “What If?” or wish you could have a do-over in life?

How are you starting off this week in a healthy and positive way?

30 thoughts on “Vow to Start Monday on a Healthy Note

    • I could understand that! I feel like if any other actress was cast in the lead role, I wouldn’t have liked it as much as I did. I love Rachel McAdams though, so really any movie she is in I will probably love too! lol I am biased :-)

  1. I haven’t seen The Vow, but I think it looks cute. It sounds like it has a good message.

    Since I have the day off from work, I’m definitely working on drinking tons of water today! My teaching job doesn’t really allow for me to do that on a “normal” work day, since I can’t exactly get up & go to the bathroom whenever, so I really take advantage of my days off & drink water constantly! I’m also going to try to be more aware of my snacking & sweets intake since that got a little crazy this weekend!

    Hope you have a great start to your week Jana!

    • I actually always drink a lot more water at work than I do at home, mostly because I am sitting a lot more and can constantly be chugging. Granted though, I don’t have 20+ students to worry about and you are right, I have to get up and go at least once an hour, a little excessive if I was in a different occupation! :-)

  2. I had a very busy Saturday, too! Baby shower and then friend’s birthday party.
    Then I got sick the next day, so I am being urged, even if I feel good, to take an extra rest day from high intensity exercising.
    I’ll probably do some yoga later today. I’m so antsy when I don’t exercise.
    Looks like you had a nice weekend :)

  3. i really want to see that movie! sometimes i do think “what if”, mainly because i analyze EVERYTHING, but i need to learn to stop and realize i am where i am today and i can’t change anything about the past – and can only do my best to shape the future in the best way possible. have a great monday : )

  4. That movie was so so. I was dying to see it, and was a bit disappointed, especially with the ending. I saw a better moving this weekend though- Columbiana- it’s 180 degrees from a love movie, but its was a really good movie!
    Ok, so I see Chia seeds all the time and I’ve never had them.
    Whats the flavor like?

    • Hmm.. I am trying to decide how chia seeds taste, but the truth is that they don’t taste like much of anything! I would say it’s definitely more of a texture thing. If you eat them raw they are more crunchy, and if you let them soak they take on a gel like consistency. Usually I don’t even notice the of chias in my meal, just the texture. Hope that helps!

  5. I haven’t seen the Vow but even though it got mixed reviews I still really want to see it! I question What if a lot but I live by the motto everything happens for a reason!
    Also I just nominated you for Versatile Blogger award!!

  6. I want to see the Vow!! I love Rachel McAdams!! And I bet it’s going to be adorable. But I’ll probably wait for dvd. Lol. And then some. I don’t get to movies very often.

    And I love starting Mondays fresh! Yay!

  7. I haven’t seen the vow yet, but I do hope to! I probably won’t be watching it in the theater… too darn expensive! I am glad you and Tim had such a nice weekend together, that is always nice to hear :)
    Great tips to start the week off too… I began my day with a long(ish) run and followed up with a hearty and nutritious pancake breakfast

  8. Way to start your week off on a healthy note!! I may have overdone it on the sweets today, but since it’s still the weekend for me I’ll make sure to start my workweek on a healthy note tomorrow :-)

    I’ve thought about “what ifs” a LOT lately once I decided to quit teaching. I kept thinking “what if I had done this a few years ago and had just studied dietetics in the first place” Finally I realized that it wasn’t getting me anywhere to think that, and I had to just learn from what I did, appreciate where it got me, and then go from here on out with a positive and optimistic attitude!

    • I feel yah girl! Sometimes I wish I would have automatically known what I wanted my major to be when I started college, but the truth is, I am not sure if you ever know what you want to do! You just live life and follow the path you are given. There is a reason you were a teacher first, and maybe it’s so you won’t ever question whether or not you should have tried that path! :-)

  9. You’re makin’ me want to go out and see The Vow! I’ve heard many different mixed reviews about it– but if it got your brain stirring like that, I feel like it would be my kind of flick

Leave a Reply

