Bringing Color to the Dinner Table

Whenever I go to the grocery, I always look for the best deals.  Sometimes I have a shopping list all planned out and stick to it from start to finish, other times though I like to find discounted options and use them as inspiration for my meals.  Being just Tim and I, the main goal is to not over buy at the grocery.  A little food can last us for weeks, and I am constantly freezing bread, veggies, meat, cheese, etc. that we can’t get to before it goes bad.  However, dairy products like milk or yogurt, or leafy vegetables like romaine or kale do not work well frozen.  These items we try and eat first and foremost.  Usually when we go to the grocery, we spend between $100 and $150, and we go every couple weeks.  Thankfully neither of us mind leftovers, so we are pretty good about cleaning out our fridge by eating the food instead of throwing it in the trash.

I went to both Kroger and Trader Joe’s on Sunday, because our fridge was getting pretty bare.  Usually I buy pantry staples and a few fun items at Trader Joe’s, and I fill up on fruits and vegetables at Kroger.  When I was roaming the produce aisle, I spotted a new to me bag of veggies called Rainbow Slaw.  It was filled with shredded broccoli, cauliflower, red cabbage, and carrots.  It was also on sale, so I figured what better time to try it than now!

DSCN1076

I am really not a huge coleslaw fan and I don’t really care for raw vegetables.  I prefer my broccoli, cauliflower, carrots and cabbage roasted, so I thought that would be the perfect way to prepare this bag.

Roasted Chinese Rainbow Slaw

Set oven to 425 degrees.

Empty bag of Rainbow Slaw onto a roasting pan.

DSCN1079 Add:

2 teaspoons Olive Oil

2 tablespoons Soy Sauce (I used low sodium)

1 tablespoon Sesame Seeds

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Mix well!
DSCN1080

Bake for 10 minutes until veggies are cooked through, but still have a bite.

DSCN1081

I also served it along a couple other new-to-me products:

DSCN1077 Black Quinoa!  A purchase made before the 4 lb. bag of quinoa from Costco.  This tasted just like regular quinoa.

DSCN1075 Trader Joe’s Sweet Italian Style Chicken Sausage.  This was pretty good, just a tad spicy for my taste.  I am a wimp though when it comes to heat!  The leftovers will be perfect for another dinner I have planned this week.

DSCN1083 Somebody let me know if you have a secret to photographing sausage in an attractive way!  Ha ha bonus points to you if you know how.. :-)

DSCN1086

DSCN1089

Questions:

What new to you ingredient/product have you enjoyed lately?  Or didn’t enjoy so much?

Have you ever tried Rainbow Slaw?  How about Black Quinoa?

30 thoughts on “Bringing Color to the Dinner Table

  1. I have never tried black quinoa but love the regular kind so maybe i should try it! A new to me product I have been loving are those chicken sausages, but i get mine from sam club. I know I am a little behind the times on that one!

  2. I have trouble not overbuying at the grocery store, since I’m usually just buying for one (or maybe two! haha) but nice job on nabbing that rainbow slaw on sale! I love when kroger has their produce discounted!

    • Oh my gosh me too! This may sounds gross, but I also check out their discounted meat. Sometimes you can get pork or chicken for literally 50% off, then I either cook it that day, or I throw it right in the freezer when I get home. I love a sale, clothes or food! lol

  3. I would’ve never thought that you could bake rainbow slaw. I’ve only used it in salads!! I’ve never tried the black quinoa. I’ve never even seen it, but I’m sure I’d love it! :)

  4. Im such a wimp with spicy food too! I’ve seen the black quinoa and also red quinoa in the bulk sections, but it’s like 3x as expensive as the regular stuff…is there any extra nutritional benefit to either of them for that price? I’m guessing not! I agree, I would much rather eat my veggies roasted unless its in a big salad. I havn’t really tried many new products lately, but to spice up my almonds a bit I coated with cinnamon and roasted them last night- so yummy :)

    • I actually didn’t really check the price, because I didn’t buy a ton. I bought probably 2 cups of dried black quinoa from the bulk bins at Whole Foods about a month ago. I am not sure if there is extra nutritional benefits or not?! May be worth checking out though :-)

  5. This is a great idea. Never thought about roasting the slaw ingredients. I guess I need to think out of the box and let the ingredients drive the preparation. Great job.

Leave a Reply

