Summer Loving in Winter

Even though we have had such a mild winter, I can tell lately I have been getting cabin fever.  It is warm enough to walk outside without feeling like your fingers and nose are going to fall off from the cold, but it is also still cold enough to crave the warm breeze, long days, and bright sunshine that summer weather possesses.

I have noticed this ‘fever’ heating up, especially in the produce aisle.  During the winter, I usually prefer fruits like bananas and apples, and vegetables such as..

  • Roasted potatoes

DSCN0901 

  • Heavy, Dark Green Leaves such as Kale

DSCN0592

  • Veggies in Soup

012 - Copy (5)

  • Broccoli mixed with Macaroni and Cheese

003 - Copy (3)

  • Baked Onion Rings

002 - Copy

In the summer months though I prefer pineapple, blueberries, and…

  • Stawberries!  Which you may remember I included with my overnight oats on Monday.  I usually don’t buy strawberries during the winter months because they are a) too expensive, or b) under ripe or dry.  I saw these at the grocery though on sale and looking juicy, so I had to buy two containers.  They were delicious and brought back memories of June and the Strawberry Festival we try and attend almost every year.

IMG_0318

Another purchase I made in the produce aisle Sunday?  Summer vegetables:  Zucchini & Yellow Squash.  These two veggies just scream hot days and grilling outside to me.  My mom would always buy zucchini and squash at farmer’s markets and we would slice them, sprinkle salt and pepper, wrap in foil, and place on the grill.  These two beauties looked too good to pass up at the grocery, so even though they weren’t grilled, they tasted perfect roasted, too.

DSCN1092

I sliced the zucchini and squash into 1/4-1/2 inch thick rounds.  Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and a little Italian seasoning.  Place on a baking sheet and place in a pre-heated, 425 degree oven for 10-12 minutes.

DSCN1093 I roasted the zucchini and squash alongside slice portobella mushrooms that I picked up on sale Sunday as well.

 DSCN1094

DSCN1096

Served alongside another new-to-me Trader Joe’s product, Portobella Mushroom Ravioli.  Boiled for 6 minutes and coated in about half a teaspoon of real butter.

DSCN1099

DSCN1100

DSCN1101

Questions:

What is your favorite fruit and vegetable to eat during the winter months?  What about during summer time?

Are you feeling cabin fever?  What are you looking forward to most this summer?

22 thoughts on “Summer Loving in Winter

  1. During the winter I love sweet potatoes and during the summer I love WATERMELON! :-) I’m usually eating fruit all year long but watermelon is one i usually only eat during the summer because it’s sooo much yummier in season.

  2. I love Sweet Potatoes all year round- my favorite by far! In the winter though I like to add Pumpkin to lots of things- as does a lot of people I think! I LOVE Camping, and I can’t wait for summer. I literally live for Summer- I love to just be outside in the warmth every day in the summer- Im excited to take my dogs to the lake and stuff too! Now that we have 2 dogs they will just play in the water together for hours!

  3. I love butternut squash, which I roasted up on Sunday. But you’re right, the strawberries are amazing this week! Mine were ginormous and so juicy, i made a strawberry chicken salad a la Panera bread and it was grand!

Leave a Reply

