Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Quinoa Granola Bars

With the amount of quinoa I have in this house, it just makes sense to create sweet treats using this ingredient.  The idea for quinoa granola bars came about last night as I was looking in the refrigerator for some kind of dessert and noticed a large container of leftover quinoa from Monday’ night’s dinner.  I thought about oats and how quinoa was a sort of similar grain, and decided granola bars may be the way to go.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Quinoa Granola Bars

DSCN1139

Makes 10-12 servings.

Ingredients

1 2/3 cups cooked quinoa

1/3 cup pecans

1/3 cup chocolate chips

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 egg

Pinch of cinnamon

1/3 cup peanut butter

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Place quinoa in a large mixing bowl.

DSCN1120

Add in pecans and chocolate chips.

DSCN1126

In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, honey, vanilla, and egg.

DSCN1121

DSCN1122 Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, and mix.

DSCN1129 Add in a pinch of cinnamon.

DSCN1130

Add in peanut butter and mix again.

DSCN1132

Spread into baking pan or baking sheet.  My pan was a little too small, I would recommend a larger rectangle shape if available.

DSCN1135

Bake for 15 minutes.

DSCN1137

As hard as it is to wait, I would refrigerate overnight.  I waited about 25 minutes to cut into the bars, but they were still a little too runny.

DSCN1140 However, they were perfectly enjoyed just as much being eaten with a fork! :-)

 

Questions:

What is your favorite type of granola bar?

Have you ever tried quinoa as a sweet treat or dessert?  If so, any favorite recipes?

27 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Quinoa Granola Bars

  1. I didnt have a granola bar in a long time, I have a period when I was eating them everyday, and I just got sick of them, now I snack on fruits, or granola and yogurt or almond milk, I can have a bar once a week, no more at this moment :)

  2. I’ve been wanting to try Quest Granola Bars, they are pretty clean for store bought bars! I’ve never had quinoa as a dessert, but I too have a TON of that stuff right now- maybe this weekend Ill get creative in the kitchen! :)

Leave a Reply

