‘Clean Out the Fridge’ Pizza

Happy Friday!  I am off to meet my mom for some breakfast and girl time before work.  So glad it’s almost the weekend!

In the mean time, I thought I would share the pizza I made for dinner Wednesday night. 

DSCN1113

DSCN1119

It included all sorts of leftover ingredients, yet it was prepared and baked fresh!  This is an example of how I clean out my refrigerator and freezer by taking ingredients we’ve already ate, and creating something new.  This is one way I save money and use up all of our extra ingredients.  The pizza included:  Bread maker pizza dough (I made two batches the last time I made pizza, and froze one dough ball), left over Italian Chicken Sausage from Monday’s dinner, a half a jar of marinara sauce I found in the refrigerator, sliced fresh mozzarella (also from the freezer), the rest of the mushrooms from my veggie loving dinner earlier this week, and dried oregano and basil from my spice cabinet.

Baked at 425 degrees for 20 minutes.

DSCN1103

DSCN1104

DSCN1105

DSCN1106

DSCN1109

DSCN1111

DSCN1112

DSCN1114

I served it alongside a salad, lightly dressed with a Red Wine and Olive Oil Vinaigrette from Trader Joe’s.

DSCN1116

DSCN1118

Questions:

Do you mind eating leftovers?

What is your favorite way to take ingredients, or a meal, and re-create it in a new way?

Any fun plans for the weekend?

30 thoughts on “‘Clean Out the Fridge’ Pizza

  1. this pizza looks great! my husband would especially love it because of the sausage and mushrooms. i do the same thing with leftovers… i like creating new dishes from old leftovers to spice things up a bit and to use up extra food. i always tell cody that no food goes to waste in our house! ;)

  2. Just discovered your blog – the pizza looks delicious! If you like to make pizza a lot, I’d suggest buying a cast iron pizza pan (you can order it from Amazon or anywhere really) – it makes pizza so much crispier and easier – it’s probably the one kitchen pan I couldn’t live without once I started using it!

Leave a Reply

