A Lighter Loaf

So yesterday in my WIAW, I gave a sneak peak of a new recipe I created for Tuesday night’s dinner.  My husband loves meatloaf, but some recipes can be pretty heavy and unhealthy.  I knew ground turkey would be a nice way to lighten up the entree, while also adding some fun and delicious ‘fillers’ to the mix!

DSCN1159

Ground Turkey Meatloaf

Ingredients

1 pound ground turkey

1/3 cup oats

1/2 can diced tomatoes with basil, oregano & garlic (Italian Style), drained

1/2 cup diced mushrooms

1 tablespoon ketchup

1 egg

Salt & pepper to taste

 

Directions

Set oven to 375 degrees.

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.

 

DSCN1141

DSCN1142 DSCN1143

 DSCN1145

DSCN1146

DSCN1147

DSCN1148

After ingredients are mixed, place in a loaf pan.

DSCN1151

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until meatloaf is cooked all the way through.

DSCN1157

I served mine with kale chips and roasted potatoes.  I also added a squirt of ketchup to my plate to keep a classic meatloaf taste.

DSCN1160

DSCN1163

DSCN1162

Questions:

Are you a meatloaf fan?

Do you have a favorite ground turkey recipe?

For those meatloaf lovers:  Ketchup or No Ketchup?

23 thoughts on “A Lighter Loaf

  1. That looks yummy! I always hate having ground meat recipe leftovers though. I find they always reheat kind of weird! But I loveeee them the first night haha.

  2. We love meatloaf in our house. And I am all about the ketchup on top with a little brown sugar in it. Its my husbands favorite meal that I make and my 3 year old gobbles it up as well!

  3. it’s the opposite in our house… my husband doesn’t like meatloaf, and i’m a huge fan! that being said, i don’t make it very often. when i do though, i always use a recipe that my stepmom made us growing up. it also uses ground turkey and is much lighter. i love it! i actually prefer it to meatloaf using ground beef. and i love ketchup with my meatloaf! i just love ketchup in general though. ;)

  4. Pingback: First Trip to Qdoba | For The Sake of Cake

  5. Pingback: Sunday Dinner | For The Sake of Cake

  6. Pingback: Winning Weekend | Newly Wife Healthy Life

Leave a Reply

