Adopt-a-Classroom

Here we are, Friday again!  It has been a great week over here though: a couple runs, pilates, work went relatively smooth, Tebow had his 5th puppy class, and I got to spend a lot of quality time with my boys.  As part of my goals, I wanted to quit ‘Working for the Weekend’, and enjoy the week.  I would have to say I did a pretty great job this week and tried to stay busy with fun activities, kept a positive attitude, and enjoyed Monday-Friday.  How did some of my other goals go you may ask?

1)  Read a Novel Every Month

Working on it!  I am reading The Paris Wife now, which was Julie’s book of the month for February.  I am trying to be in bed a little earlier than usual and cuddle up and read a few chapters before I fall asleep.

2)  Run a Half Marathon with my Husband

Good so far!  More details on this to come.. :-)

3)  Light Candles When I am Home

Trying!  I think I lit them 2 or 3 days this week, so I am hoping to move that to 3 or 4 days next week.  I seem to just completely forget about it, even though the candles are staring at me in the face!

 

Speaking of goals, I felt an urge in my heart to share something with my readers that I came across yesterday.  As many of you know, I am a FitFluential Ambassador, and an amazing aspect of the FitFluential company is opportunity, (If you have never visited the FitFluential website, I urge you to take a look!  Whether you are a blogger who wants to become an influencer, or a non-blogger who wants to join too.  Check it out!).  Sure, there are plenty of opportunities for exercise advancement and nutritional product sampling, but there is so much more that goes on behind the scenes.  There are caring people who come together to support topics, events, and special projects that can make a positive difference in the world.  A current venture FitFluential is involved with is called “Adopt a Classroom.”

 

According to the website: 

Adopt-A-Classroom increases opportunity for student success by empowering teachers with community partners and funds to purchase resources for the classroom.

Fitfluential is adopting two classrooms in hopes of raising funds for each school’s specific needs.  The first classroom is Wendy Henady’s 5th grade class of 25 students in Joplin, Missouri:

“Recently, our school was destroyed by a tornado. Everything in the classroom is gone. We are not able to get into the classroom. Next year we will have over 50 3rd graders who will not have a classroom library, supplies, or reading centers/areas. Many have lost their homes and I would love for them to have a safe place to heal and learn.” – Wendy Henady

Here is a picture of the school from May 24, 2011.  Irving Elementary School was hit by an F-5 tornado on May 22, 2011.

 

The second classroom is Terry Hogan’s 4th grade class in Dallas, Texas.  There are 40 students in her class and she is worried about her student’s reading skills and her ability to provide them with the resources they need to succeed.

“My students come from low socieconomic backgrounds. They do not have access to many resources outside of their immediate community. My Students need class sets of novels to read. They also need incentives to reward their efforts. By providing books and incentives I can make sure that all my students have a level playing field.” – Terry Hogan

How the Program Works

How it Works

1. Selecting a classroom
A donor selects a classroom and makes a contribution for the teacher to use and purchase much needed resources for the classroom. Donors may search for classrooms by geography, school name, teacher name or other search criteria. If a donor has no preference, Adopt-A-Classroom partners the donor with an underserved classroom in the community.
2. 100% of donation to the classroom
Adopt-A-Classroom directs 100% of all donations earmarked for classrooms to the classroom teacher in the form of online credit. Adopt-A-Classroom takes $0 for administration.
3. Ordering classroom resources
The teacher uses the credit to shop online from a network of affiliate vendors that have partnered with Adopt-A-Classroom. The teacher has full discretion to purchase resources that meet student needs and increase opportunity for classroom success. If the teacher is unable to meet classroom needs with the affiliate vendors, Adopt-A-Classroom will work with the teacher on a one-to-one basis.
4. 100% accountability and transparency
Adopt-A-Classroom sends each donor an "Impact Report" which details item-by-item, dollar-for-dollar what the teacher purchased with the donation.
5. Corresponding and interacting
Donors and teachers communicate throughout the school year, so donors can learn about the difference they have made in the lives of the students. In most instances, donors receive thank you packages, artwork and other student created projects. Donors may choose to support the classroom in ways beyond the financial contribution, such as visiting the classroom, chaperoning field trips and other activities that are coordinated directly between donor and teacher.
6. Lasting relationship
As donors participate in subsequent years, they not only enjoy the cumulative effect of their efforts with each new class of students, but also develop a lasting and meaningful relationship with the classroom teacher.

 

I hope that this opportunity speaks to your heart as much as it has spoken to mine.  I was blessed enough to attend a wonderful elementary school that felt safe and had all the resources I could ever need or want.  These kids deserve that same experience!  I would be so appreciative if you could tell whoever you can about this program and get the word out there to others.  Whether you decide now is the time to donate, or maybe sometime in the future to the following or different classrooms, I hope you remember the “Adopt-a-Classroom” program and all the good it has to offer to kids and their future!

If you would like to donate to Wendy’s classroom in Joplin, Missouri, please visit this link:

http://www.adoptaclassroom.org/classroomdonation/results_teacher.aspx?classroomid=143777

Or, if you choose to give to Terry’s classroom in Dallas, Texas, please click here:

http://www.adoptaclassroom.org/classroomdonation/results_teacher.aspx?classroomid=154803

 

Thanks everyone!  I hope you all enjoy the last day of the regular work week, and have an amazing start to the weekend!

Questions:

What is a favorite memory of yours from elementary school?

Have you ever heard of Adopt-a-Classroom?

11 thoughts on “Adopt-a-Classroom

  1. Such an awesome project and so happy that Fitfluential is taking part! I have so many great memories from elementary school…my gym teacher was awesome and every year for the talent show we always did these flip type things on the horse- so fun!

  2. I love Adopt A Classroom. Such a good idea. But then I’m a teacher so I love everything like that. Haha. I want to run a half-mar with kevin too. We found one on March 6, but I don’t think that’s happening. Lol.

  3. Hey Love, I’ve never heard of this project, but how COOL is it!!!!!

    Ahhhh being with FitFluential Rocks, huh???

    I hope you have a great weekend!! My most FAB memory of elementary school would have to be hot dog day, dodge ball….painting my hair with smelly felts…..oh the list goes on :)

    xxoo

  4. Such an awesome project! Especially since the Joplin, Missouri school is so close to home! I have a friend who is teaching in the Joplin high school right now and I know it’s tough and they can definitely use any help they can get. This is such a cool project!

  5. This is an awesome project. How timely to bring this to our attention on the day of the destructive weather impacting the Great Lakes to the Gulf. There will be many more students in need. I am going to evaluate this project for my employer. My favorite memories from school the library,reading time and field day. So Fun!

Leave a Reply

