Chef’s Night Off

There is nothing like coming home to a warm house on a cold winter day.  That’s right, it is still winter, which is something I have to remind myself of since it was 70 degrees just last week!  However, it doesn’t take too much reminding when you wake up to lightly fallen snow covering the ground.  

DSCN0967 

The hard thing about this time of the year is how the temperature goes up and down, up and down, without so much of a warning.   Everywhere I turn it seems like someone is feeling sick.  It is definitely taking extra work to stay warm and healthy.  Sometimes though, a comforting meal doesn’t hurt either and can actually be the best medicine.  For those nights when I need something quick to make for dinner, I love having yummy options in the freezer.  I cook at least 4 or 5 times a week, but sometimes I just need a break.  Today was ‘just another manic Monday,’ and I was not in the right mindset to play in the kitchen.

DSCN1222

Exhibit A:  Dinner!

 

DSCN1219

Trader Joe’s Frozen Margherita Pizza

DSCN1223

I love pizza, (if you haven’t caught on yet from my multiple pizza recipes)!I popped this pizza in the oven at 425 degrees for 12 minutes, and then broiled on high for 2 minutes.  The box said it needed only 7 minutes, but I like my cheese a little bubblier and browned.  I was worried about whether or not Tim would like this pizza because there is no meat, but he ended up really enjoying it.  I thought it was really delicious and would happily buy it again.  It was one of the healthiest tasting frozen pizzas I have ever had.  There was  literally no grease and the ingredients tasted light and fresh, not frozen at all.  I sprinkled a little sea salt, black pepper and dried basil on top when it came out of the oven, just to spruce it up a bit!

DSCN1226

I served it alongside freshly chopped romaine lettuce and called it dinner in under 15 minutes!  While it was baking, I also had time to put away the clean dishes out of the dishwasher and tidy up the kitchen.  I love meals that cook themselves and give me a little extra time to do some household chores while my oven does the work.

 

DSCN1227

Just what I needed to finish up a busy day!

 

FYI – The Fashion Page was updated today!  I am still trying to decide how to approach the format.  Feel free to check it out!

 

Questions:

What is your favorite frozen or pre-made dinner for those days when you just don’t feel like cooking? 

Do you have any recommendations we need to try?!

15 thoughts on “Chef’s Night Off

  1. Ahhhh the HUSBAND and his penchant for the frozen :-)
    And it isn’t as good (for you or looking :-)) as your pizza.

    My go to when I don’t wanna cook is the pre-smoked salmon steak thrown on top of precutveggies and bagged lettuce!

  2. That pizza makes me want to go to Trader Joes so badly!! its so annoying the closet one to me right now is a solid 25 minutes away:( i love heating up frozen veggie burgers and sweet potato fries for a quick meal!

  3. Pingback: Chef's Night Off « Newly Wife Healthy Life « healthy pizza recipes

Leave a Reply

