You Say Tomato

Soups are one of those super comforting lunches or dinners that do a great job warming you up on a cool day.  Soups are also a meal that I rarely make, which I am not sure why since they are so easy and there is such a variety of options to make:  Black Bean, Vegetable, Chicken Noodle, Tortilla, Broccoli Cheddar, etc.  I know that many soups seem quick and easy to make, but in all honesty they make me nervous.  Trying to get the right seasonings and the right consistency takes just enough patience and skill.  I can say for a fact that I have never tried to make my own homemade Tomato soup.  This is a shame considering that grilled cheese and tomato soup is one of Tim’s all-time favorite meals.  If you can believe it, I remember in high school when he would love grilled cheese/tomato soup day when it was served in the cafeteria.  It was  definitely his all time favorite school lunch. I decided to give it a whirl and try to bring back those memories from years ago, although this time I hoped it would be even better since his wife was making his meal and we are no longer in high school!  Soup may be so much easier to pour right out of a can, but it is a lot healthier and delicious coming right off of your stove.

I found a recipe in Cooking Light Magazine for Tomato-Basil Soup that I didn’t think looked too hard.  While I was at the store Sunday, I picked up some ingredients and thought I would give it a whirl!

Tomato-Basil Soup

DSCN1253

(Slightly adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1/4 medium onion, finely chopped

DSCN1230

3 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 tablespoon dried basil

1 (28-ounce) can fire-roasted tomatoes

DSCN1238

1/2 cup Neufchatel Cheese, cubed

1 1/2 cups skim milk

1/2 cup water

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

 

Directions

Heat saucepan of medium heat.  Add oil and onions, cooking for 3 minutes.

 

DSCN1231

Add in garlic and cook for another minute until onions are translucent and golden.

DSCN1235

Add in tomatoes and basil.  Bring to a boil.

DSCN1239

Add in cream cheese and stir until mixed.

 

DSCN1242

DSCN1243

 

Add mixture to a blender and puree.

DSCN1245

Pour mixture back into pot.

DSCN1247

Add in milk, water, salt & pepper.  Stir together and bring to a boil.  Turn the stove back to low and simmer for 10-15 minutes.

DSCN1249

Dinner is served in less than 30 minutes!  I added asparagus to the side for a little green and also made a grilled cheese for my husband.

DSCN1250

DSCN1252

DSCN1251

Questions:

Do you like to make soup at home?  If so, what is your favorite soup to make?

What is your favorite soup in general:  Broccoli Cheese, Tortilla, Vegetable, Chicken Noodle, etc., etc.?

What was your favorite school lunch when you were in high school?

14 thoughts on “You Say Tomato

  1. I love soup, but it never keeps me full! LOL!

    This looks amazing and so simple, I could eat this with a huge salad on the side…I might just have to do that ;)

    xxoo

  2. I’ve never made my own tomato soup – this looks great!

    My favorite lunch in high school was my own boring lunch that I brought every day: a sandwich with an apple and some other “side” item, usually something with peanut butter :-)

    • I used to pack a turkey sandwich and yogurt almost every day! When I did eat school lunch, I either got the pasta with marinara (which was available every day), or the popcorn chicken. Ha as terrible as probably was for me, it was so good! Oh , and giant doughy chocolate chip cookies were offered, amazing!

Leave a Reply

