Carrying over the Green Theme

What a gorgeous weekend we had around my parts!  Sunny skies, warm breezes, and a holiday to boot?  I am sure it would be hard to find a more beautiful weekend in March that I can remember.  Friday after work I got a chance to stay home and simply relax.  Saturday consisted of a 6-mile run with Tim (59:11), followed by a 2-mile cool down walk after stopping by home to pick up Tebow.  After we got back, I started my St. Patty’s day with a green drink maybe not as expected:

025

Skim milk, banana, protein powder, and spinach

After an exercise-filled morning, we showered, packed our overnight bags, then headed to enjoy lunch at Milano’s on the outdoor patio.  Unbelievable right?  Eating outside in March is pretty unheard of unless you spend lots of money to go on Spring Break to Florida or Mexico.  With no travel plans this year, we were lucky that the vacation weather came north to us.  I debated back and forth between a sub or a calzone, but finally decided to go with the latter.

026 

Cheese Calzone with marinara for dipping.

I love calzone’s mostly for the doughy goodness.  I have to say though that this one was extra yummy.  It was low on the grease scale (important!), and there was just enough cheese without going overboard.  Great choice in my eyes!  After lunch, we headed to my parent’s house where we stayed the night with Tebow.  Tim’s softball team had a fish fry Saturday night, so we thought it would be easier to stay near the event.  This worked out great, and Sunday morning Tim headed off to play golf while I headed with my mom for a little shopping.  I only bought a couple things from Victoria’s Secret, but mostly did some window shopping.  A mixture of Peanut Butter, Cake Batter and Cookies & Cream fro-yo may have also been indulged in, topped with:  cookie dough, strawberries, 1 yogurt covered pretzel, and a tiny sprinkle of graham cracker crumbs and crushed Oreo cookies.  So good!  We ended Sunday night with a trip to the grocery and a nice family walk to complete an awesome weekend.

029

Tebow strutting his stuff!

030 

Spring Blooms!

031

I decided to keep the green-theme from the weekend going on my Monday by starting off the week on a healthy note with a GREEN Smoothie In a Bowl.

032

1 cup almond milk

033

1/2 frozen banana

034

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

035

1 tablespoon PB2

037

1 teaspoon Chia seeds

038

As much spinach as you can fit in the blender!!

040

Blend baby, blend!

041

What a way to wake up your morning!  (Ha ha my husband cracked up when he saw this!  Anyway to get a laugh, right?!)  Not for those who need more of a visual appeal!  Sure is amazingly nutritious though!!

043

Topped with a little granola and cereal.  Breakfast of champions!!

044

 Have a great Monday!

 

Questions:

 

How was your weekend?  Tell me the best thing you did!

What green foods/drinks did you consume to celebrate St. Patty’s day?

What did your exercise look like this past weekend?

20 thoughts on “Carrying over the Green Theme

  1. A spinach smoothie is my go to breakfast! It keeps me full and focused all day. It’s amazing how I can’t even taste the spinach in the smoothie. I will try your green smoothie in a bowl- it looks delicious!!

  2. Ah! What a reat smoothie. Except I haven’t exactly embraced the green yet. That might be an extra step for my husband too!! Lol. He’s a little skeptical of extra vegetables!

Leave a Reply

