WIAW: Out to Lunch & a New-to-Me Veg

Today’s WIAW revolves around yesterday’s eats and treats.  It’s hard to believe, but it is already April and this month’s challenge is once again centered around veggies.

Peas and Crayons

The goal this month is to ‘serve up an extra cup of veggies’ to our daily eats.  So let’s begin!

 

Yesterday was one of those days that started out in a not-so-fun way, but ended on a high note.  We have our preventive medical exams next week, so we had to go in to a clinical lab for a blood drawl and fluid samples.  This means fasting, which is obvious never fun.  I eat pretty much immediately when I wake up so my stomach was easily rumbling by the time I finished at about 9:00.  We swung into Starbucks on the way to work and I ordered a Venti Blonde Roast with a mix of half and half and skim, and a Turkey Bacon and White Cheddar Classic Breakfast Sandwich.

IMG_0452

IMG_0453

IMG_0455

IMG_0456

When lunch time rolled around, I was all set to eat the Trader Joe’s chili, spring mix salad, and slice of homemade bread I had packed.  However, two coworkers invited me out to lunch and usually I pass to save a little money, but yesterday I just needed a change in pace and I headed out to Penn Station.  I ordered the Turkey Dagwood with provolone, lettuce, tomato and spicy brown mustard.  I also ordered a small side of fries with a lot of Ketchup on the side.  Hand cut fries are my favorite and sometimes it’s just too hard to pass up!  I didn’t take a picture since I was out with co-workers, but it looked similar to this:

(Source)

(Source)

I ate almost all of the sandwich and about half of the fries.  I was lacking all day in the eat more veggies category, so I thought I would jazz up dinner with a new-to-me leafy green.  Grilled Pork Chop sprinkled with salt, thyme and parsley, Roasted Yukon Gold potatoes and roasted carrots, which were drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with salt & pepper.  That green, leafy vegetable rounding out my dinner was Collard Greens(full recipe to come!), which were sautéed with turkey bacon, diced onions and minced garlic.

DSCN1468 I picked up the collared greens at the Farmer’s Market over the weekend and they were so good!  I sautéed them in the same pan as I cooked the pork, so they were extra flavorful thanks to the grilled chops.

DSCN1469

Dessert was about a cup of diced strawberries, since I had completely neglected the fruit group all day.

DSCN1429

There was Tuesday’s eats!  Not as many veggie servings as I was hoping for, but there is always today to make up for it!

 

Questions:

What is the best thing you have ate this past week?

8 thoughts on “WIAW: Out to Lunch & a New-to-Me Veg

  1. I think you had lots of veggies :) those berries look so fresh and yummy. I also love love love Starbucks’ breakfast sandwiches!!

  2. Haha I always hate taking pictures of my food when I’m people that don’t know about the blog … I don’t want them to think I’m nuts. ;)

    Best thing I ate … probably the guacamole I posted about on Monday. It was so easy to make and SO good! :)

  3. Okay, they’re not the BEST thing I’ve eaten all week (by a long shot), but I actually don’t mind brussels sprouts now. I’ve eaten them twice this week, and while I’m not going to say I enjoyed them, I didn’t hate them :-)

Leave a Reply

