Southern Staple

I had never tried collared greens before this recipe, but when I saw bushels at the farmer’s market last Saturday I figured what better time to buy than the present.  I figured that because my current love of roasted kale chips is so strong, it was pretty safe to guess I would enjoy this form of leafy greens as well.  I decided to keep things simple, keep the recipe my own, and add flavor while keeping the dish light.

 

Turkey Bacon Collared Greens

DSCN1471

Ingredients

Collared Greens

3 slices Turkey Bacon

1/2 diced Onion

2 cloves Minced Garlic

sea salt

 

Directions

Over medium heat, cook Turkey Bacon in grill pan/fry pan until fully cooked.  Then set bacon aside. (I used the same grill pan that I had cooked my pork chops in).

DSCN1455

(My pork chops were simply seasoned with sea salt, thyme and parsley, then drizzled with olive oil and grilled).

 

DSCN1457

DSCN1460

Add onions to pan and cook for 3-4 minutes.  Add in garlic and cook another 2-3 minutes.

DSCN1461

DSCN1462

While bacon, onions and garlic are cooking, prepare collared greens.  Wash each leaf at a time and set aside.

DSCN1441

DSCN1443

Remove stem from the center of each leaf.

DSCN1444Fold leaf in half.

DSCN1445

Roll leaf and cut into slices.

DSCN1446

DSCN1447

DSCN1448

Continue process until all the leaves are prepped.

DSCN1450

DSCN1451

Add collared greens to grill pan along with onions and garlic.  Chop turkey bacon and add to pan as well.

DSCN1463

Cover with a lid and cook on medium-low heat 5-7 minutes.  Stir together to mix up ingredients.

DSCN1464

I served the greens along with grilled pork chops, and roasted carrots and potatoes.

DSCN1458

DSCN1467

DSCN1469

Questions:

Have you ever had collared greens?  What do you think is the best way to prepare them?

What is your favorite ‘southern staple’?

12 thoughts on “Southern Staple

  1. This looks really great. All of that iron, so good for you. Seasoning them with the turkey bacon drippings is excellent. Very nice presentation.

Leave a Reply

