His and Hers Brunch

It’s Monday! (Again).  Does anyone else feel like you are constantly saying that?  I know I sure do.  Thankfully I was able to have a wonderful weekend that I can reminisce on as I get ready to start a new work week.

Friday was a workday, but I knew what was on the agenda for when I got home.  With the half marathon only a few weeks away, a 10 mile run was the plan.  This run marked the first time I have ran double digits in two years and it was the first time Tim had ever ran a double digit distance.  It was a run to remember that’s for sure!  We took off at about 5:15 and finished in just about 1 hour and 39 minutes, with a 9:57 pace.  It wasn’t our fastest long run pace, but our goal is to stay under a 10 minute mile so I would say we are on our way.  When the run was over we picked up Tebow and went on a two mile walk to cool down and stretch out our legs a little bit.  I know that my legs were so sore all night Friday and were actually throbbing a little, causing me to have a hard time going to sleep.  Luckily by Saturday morning I was feeling a little better and stretched out my legs in a few downward dogs.

Speaking of dogs, on Saturday I took Tebow to his first Intermediate class, now that he’s a puppy preschool graduate.  It was definitely a change of pace!  Tebow did a great job of keeping up with all the other dogs and fit right in with his skill set, but some of the other dogs were 4+ years old and just starting classes because the owners have had issues with them.  Some were growling, a few were barking, and Tebow was hiding!  At one point he was so nervous that he stuck his head right through my legs and whimpered.  It was so sad, but he just wanted some protection and I was happy to oblige.  Being only 6 months old, he’s still a tiny guy and compared to the dogs who weigh 80 pounds plus, he sure does look like a baby.  After class, Tim and I met up (he had softball) and headed to Whole Foods, Costco, 5 Guys, and Graeter’s Ice Cream (1 scoop Butter Pecan ice cream on a pretzel cone)!  After that we headed home and I called it an early night since I had so much trouble sleeping Friday.

Sunday was a pretty leisurely day at my house, just ask Tebow!

DSCN1500 Model Pose!  lol

Tim was going to play golf in the afternoon so I thought it would be fun to have a family brunch before he left.

French Toast was on the menu!

His and Hers French Toast

DSCN1512

French Toast is one of those staple breakfast options that are simple to make and have many different ingredient options.  I decided to make ‘his and hers’ french toast, which is a lot easier than it may sound.

His:

I used two whole eggs and two slice of whole wheat bread.

Hers:

I used 1 whole egg, 2 egg whites, and two slice of Whole Foods organic whole wheat bread with a touch of honey.

His:

I topped with creamy salted peanut butter from Trader Joe’s.

DSCN1521

Hers:

I used about a 1/4 cup of lite syrup.

DSCN1519

His:

I added a whole banana and a few pieces of cantaloupe as a side dish.

Hers:

I filled my plate with ripe and juicy, fresh-cut cantaloupe.

 

Recipe for Basic French Toast

Ingredients

4 slices of whole wheat bread

2 whole eggs

1 egg, 2 egg whites

pinch of cinnamon

Olive oil

Directions

Start by heating a pan of medium-low heat and spray with olive oil.

In a small bowl, beat together 2 whole eggs, about 1 tablespoon water, and cinnamon.

DSCN1505

Add bread to egg mixture and fully coat on both sides.

DSCN1507 Add bread to pan and cook 3-4 minutes on each side until bread is lightly browned and egg is cooked through.

DSCN1508

DSCN1509 

DSCN1510

Follow the same process above for the 1 whole egg, 2 egg whites variation.

DSCN1514

DSCN1520

The rest of Sunday was filled with a 2 mile light jog and 1 mile walk with Tebow, catching up on laundry, vacuuming, cleaning the house, and I even fit a little bit of lounging into the day!

 

Questions:

Do you like French toast?  Did you have a fun brunch this weekend too?

Any meals that you make differently for yourself and your significant other?

What did you do this weekend?

16 thoughts on “His and Hers Brunch

  1. sounds like a great weekend! tebow is getting so big!
    i’ve actually been liking french toast more lately than i used to! waffles are still my favorite, but french toast is growing on me. i love your “his” and “her” versions. however, i’d without a doubt still top mine with peanut butter. ;)

  2. Wow, kudos to you for going for a long run after work! Seriously, I can barely get myself to work out for a few minutes after I’m done with a busy day of classes, let alone an hour and 30 minutes haha

  3. The hubby and I are always eating different things for dinner. We both eat clean, but eat at different times of the night, so unless I make enough for both of us I usually end up making 2 different dinners.

    Tebow reminds me of my boxer/lab mix Zoey!

  4. Great job on the run!!! :) I was in Vegas this weekend… so although we had a “brunch” all our meals were kind of on a crazy schedule. I think brunch was eaten around 3 or 4!

  5. I LOVE French Toast! Haven’t had it in awhile but I’m thinking it sounds great for our brunch this weekend. PS – Congrats on the run. I’m finally up to 2 miles (something even in January I couldn’t foresee happening). I hope to get up to a half marathon by next Spring :)

Leave a Reply

