WIAW: WIAS Edition

Today’s edition of WIAW is more like WIAS:  What I Ate Sunday.  I thought it would be a nice change to document a day of weekend eats since I always tend to share what I eat during the work week.  Weekend meals vary widely depending on where I am, who I am with, and what I am doing.  This weekend was a great example of that since Saturday was filled with more splurges like a cheeseburger and fries (paired with a ton of ketchup!) from Five Guys and an ice cream cone from Graeter’s.  Tim and I were out and about all day, so eating in restaurants and choosing treats over greens are obviously more likely to happen during times like that compared to when we are home.  Sunday though was more of a day for rest where I cleaned the house, took my pup for a long walk, and did load after load of laundry.  So what did I eat on a day at home during the weekend?  Let’s take a look!

Peas and Crayons

Breakfast @ 8:30 am:

DSCN1519

You’ve already seen this recipe, but Sunday morning we had French toast for breakfast.  I paired my two slices of whole wheat French toast (dipped in one whole egg, two egg whites) with amazingly ripe and sweet diced cantaloupe.  I was so surprised how delicious the fruit was, especially since it was purchased before cantaloupe season.  I can’t wait for Farmer’s Markets to really start gearing up and offering even more fresh produce!  I poured light syrup over the top, because to me French toast isn’t complete until it’s drizzled with a sticky and sweet sauce!

Lunch @ 12:30 pm:

IMG_0467

Lunch was leftover Pulled BBQ Pork, which I had made last week in the crock pot.  It was super simple:  I just added about a 2 pound pork loin to my crock pot and covered the bottom of the pot with water.  I cooked on 8 hours and when I got home after work, I just shredded the chicken with a fork and added barbecue sauce.  Served on the side of my pork are roasted kale chips and an ear of corn, (which was also surprisingly fresh and delicious, just like the cantaloupe)!  Tim went golfing during the day so quick leftovers made for a perfect lunch for one.  After lunch, Tebow and I went for a long walk outside.  We went the farthest that Tebow ever has:  A little over 3 miles!  I was so proud.

Snack @ 4:

IMG_0464

My afternoon snack was a green smoothie bowl.  I wish so much I had a blender at work so I could whip up yummy concoctions like this.  Although it’s ugly, it tastes amazing and gives me so much energy from the huge handfuls of spinach I add in.  This bowl has a cup of almond milk, 1 tablespoon peanut butter, 1/2 banana, about 3-4 cups of spinach, and a little ice.

Dinner @ 7:

IMG_0470

Dinner was a simple slice of grilled pork loin, sprinkled with sea salt and herbed poultry seasoning, and drizzled with olive oil.  On the side was steamed broccoli and grilled mushrooms.

IMG_0471

To drink was a fresh brewed iced tea that I had made earlier in my iced tea maker.  I had purchased it back in college at Bed, Bath & Beyond in the clearance section (it was so cheap!) and I love it so much.  It is a great way brew your own tea without having to boil the water, steep the tea bags, etc., etc.

Now that I look back at my Sunday eats, it looks like I did a great job of following the April Veg Pledge that Jenn is encouraging for April.  I think my body was pretty thrilled for all of those nutrients after my eats on Saturday, but that is the thing about life:  moderation and balance is key.

 

Questions:

What is the best thing you ate over the weekend?

Have you ever brewed your own iced tea?

How do your weekend eats vary from your weekday eats?

11 thoughts on “WIAW: WIAS Edition

  1. All your Sunday eats look delish! The best thing I ate all weekend was a chicken taco while with all my girlfriends during our weekend trip to Vegas!!

  2. Great job eating so well on the weekend! I always seem to have a few too many treats on the weekend. :) Thanks for the reminder to make iced tea, yum!

  3. I want to try kale chips! Now that I finally have a toaster oven in the hotel room, I need to try those out! Best thing I ate this weekend … definitely the delicious sushi we had Saturday night!

  4. Usually my weekend eats are lot heavier and more indulgent than during the week (most likely because I am at church for much of Saturday and almost all day Sunday). I think being around friends and going out to eat makes that happen.
    Your weekend eats look so good and nutritionally balanced!

  5. Jealous of your eats – you had some of my favorite things! The best thing I had this weekend was a big soft pretzel (my favorite food) after the race on Saturday!

  6. French toast is one of all my all-time favorite breakfast, but I hardly ever take the time to make it! Seeing your pictures totally sparked a craving, and I think I might have to follow that recipe tomorrow morning!

Leave a Reply

