Messy Joe’s

Growing up, I was never a big fan of Sloppy Joe’s.  Maybe it was the name, or the soggy bun, or perhaps it was the way the thick and sweet sauce would cover the ground beef.  Whatever it was, the combination of the above made for a dinner that I didn’t necessarily look forward to.  However, I know that over time my taste buds change and I decided to add Sloppy Joe’s to the dinner rotation when something caught my eye at the grocery store.

IMG_0495

I picked up the Simply Organic Sloppy Joe seasoning packet at Whole foods and happened to have a can of Hunt’s Tomato Sauce on hand.  I liked that the ingredients were much simpler than a can of Manwich, and that by using real tomato sauce I could add an extra serving of veggies to my dinner, while also controlling the high sugar count that is in most canned sauces.

IMG_0503

Messy Joe’s

1 pound ground turkey breast

1/2 cup sliced mushrooms (optional)

1 packet Simply Organic Sloppy Joe Seasoning

1 cup water

1 can Hunt’s Tomato Sauce

IMG_0496

In a large pan over medium heat, brown ground turkey and add in sliced mushrooms.  Drain grease.

IMG_0497Add in seasoning packet.

IMG_0498 Pour in water.

IMG_0499

Mix in tomato sauce and stir.

IMG_0500

Mix all ingredients together and bring to a boil.  Then turn heat to low and simmer 5-10 minutes.  That is it!

IMG_0505

His and Hers Messy Joe’s!

His:

IMG_0501

Messy Joe on a whole wheat bun, topped with a slice of Colby Longhorn cheese, and roasted kale chips on the side.

IMG_0502

Hers:

IMG_0504 

Messy Joe, spaghetti squash, and roasted kale chips.

IMG_0506

Questions:

Are you a fan of Sloppy Joe’s?

What meals from your childhood did you not like then, but do now?

In what ways do you create more adult meals from generally kid-friendly recipes?

21 thoughts on “Messy Joe’s

  1. I actually do like Sloppy Joes, even though (like you) I wasn’t a huge fan as a kid. My husband’s mom gave me a recipe for them that I like to use … it includes green pepper and onion, and it’s really yummy! :)

  2. This is awesOme! I used to have sloppy joes as a kid once a week or so, but I haven’t brought myself to make it since because I always attributed it with being unhealthy, but this looks awesome! My husband will be a very happy guy!! :)

  3. growing up I was never a fan of sloppy joes..but I like them now as long as I prepare it or my mom does! Growing up I always hated meatloaf, but lately its been something I really enjoy. Brussel sprouts used to make me gag and now I am obsessed with them! Its so funny how your taste buds change as you get older..I sure am glad they have or else I would be missing out!

  4. i actually do love sloppy joes!! we had them growing up only every once in awhile, but i make them fairly often for cody and me now. i usually make them with ground turkey on whole wheat buns to make them healthier. your version sounds yummy! :)

  5. I also thought they were too sweet! I guess I just always expected meat sauce-y stuff to be either chili or pasta sauce – I much prefer those!

  6. I just stumbled across your blog and I love it! I love LOVE tebow and am looking forward to reading more! (Sidenote, when we adopted our dog, his name was Bolow [what is that?] and Tebow was one of the names we were toying with naming him. Instead we have Milo :) ]

    • Aww thank you so much! I am so glad that you found me! :-) I love Tebow too lol, he is a crack up! :-) We jumped on using the name Tebow when Tim Tebow still played for the Denver Bronco’s (my husband’s favorite team!). However, Milo is equally adorable of a name as well!

Leave a Reply

