Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

It is always a good sign when your husband walks through the door and the first words out of his mouth is, “It smells good in here.”

It is even better when that sweet, cinnamon smell is coming right through the oven doors.

I had 3 ripe bananas staring at me for days, and I finally found time to put them to use yesterday evening.  There are only two things I do with ripe bananas:  Freeze them, or bake them, and yesterday I chose to bake.

Banana bread is one of my all time favorite treats.  I swear, when I was little, I would rather have a piece of banana bread than almost any other baked good.  I remember watching the kitchen timer click down until the moment that loaf would be ready, and then cut into the bread while it was still piping hot.

I knew I wanted to mix up the recipe this time, and I must say this one was a winner!  It is hard to go wrong with the addition of spicy cinnamon, sweet chocolate chips, and crunchy peanut butter, along with a couple of surprising and healthy ingredients like plain Greek yogurt, and whole wheat flour.

Trust me, skip the banana with your cereal this morning and let those guys ripen up.  You won’t regret it!

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

 

DSCN1646

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup white flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

3 ripe bananas

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1 egg

1/4 cup sugar

2 tablespoons canola oil

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions

Heat oven to 350 degrees and spray a loaf pan with cooking spray.

In a medium sized bowl, add in whole wheat flour, white flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Lightly whisk together.

DSCN1611

DSCN1614

In a separate, larger bowl mash bananas with a fork.

DSCN1617

DSCN1619

Add in peanut butter..

DSCN1625

Greek yogurt…

DSCN1627

Egg…

DSCN1629

Sugar and oil…

DSCN1630

Then mix together.

DSCN1631

Add chocolate chips to flour mixture and combine.  (This will keep the chips from sinking to the bottom of the loaf pan).

DSCN1632 

Add flour mixture to wet ingredients, stirring just until combined.

DSCN1635

Add batter to loaf pan.

DSCN1637

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until center is fully cooked.

DSCN1639

I know you’re not supposed to, but go ahead and cut it when it comes right out of the oven.  A hot piece is the way to go!

DSCN1645

I had a slice this morning for breakfast, topped with just a touch of peanut butter for some staying power.

DSCN1650

I heated up the slice of bread in the microwave for 30 seconds so the peanut butter would be nice and melted.  Delicious!

 

Questions:

Are you a fan of banana bread?  What are your favorite ‘add-ins’ to the batter?

Do you wait for your baked goods to cool before you dig in?  I know I don’t!  Especially for bread right out of the bread machine!

30 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. Certainly a tasty use of ripe bananas! I think I’ve got a few on hand, and now I know what to do with them….

    I do like banana bread, and you’re right on with the chocolate chip add-in. Banana + chocolate = YUM . And sometimes I can’t even wait for the baking part to dig in ;) (guilty)

  2. How many calories are in banana bread? If you don’t know that’s fine but let me just say that yours looks delicious!

  3. Oh my!! This looks SO good. I’m a huge fan of banana bread too and I usually add chocolate chips – but Ive never thought about PB even though it’s one of my favorite foods! Going to try this asappppp.

  4. Oh yes! This looks incredible, I pinned it so I can make it later!!! I am a HUGE fan of banana bread and a huge fan of chocolate so this is the recipe for me! Thank you for sharing!!

  5. I actually had something very similar to this at Starbucks the other day for the first time…the flavors compliment each other so well, and I’m sure it’s even better when baked fresh!

  6. I just came across this the other day and made it twice already and love it… do you know how many calories about are in each slice?

Leave a Reply

