Dream Homes

As far back as I can remember I have adored all things home, HGTV, interior decorating, and design. You are probably thinking, ‘Wow…what a strange kid…’ Honestly speaking? I probably can’t deny those honest, but true accusations.

However, I personally believe I’ve always held this fascination in many thanks to my dad. Not only has he taught me a lot about houses, but researching has always been something we do together, which adds the sentimentality factor. He has owned a tile business for years and he taught me to look at floor plans and home construction a little differently than most kids. Some may see a floor and know it is tile, but they don’t even notice the elaborate colors, designs, and handcrafted patterns. I see tile as glass, granite or quarry. I notice the grout, the quality of work, the detail of the wet-saw cut, and the hand-laid mosaic pattern. I may not know how to physically lay tile, but I sure do observe it carefully. I also realize the amount of work that goes into it, and the man hours it takes to finish a job.

HGTV was always on television in our house, and I loved shows like House Hunters and Design on a Dime even as a kid. I remember one year in seventh grade, I attended ‘Take Your Daughter to Work Day’ with my dad and visited three or four homes where he was currently working on projects. One home in particular stuck in my head, everything about the floor plan, color scheme and layout of the house screamed dream home. There was thick crown molding throughout the house, huge built-ins everywhere you turned, and an open floor plan that would be perfect for entertaining and everyday living. This home obviously made quite the impact on a 12 year old girl and who knows, maybe someday down the road I will be able to build that dream home I have pictured in my head. Perhaps, I will even have some help from my dad.

I think this is truly why a big goal of mine was always to own my own home. Some kids dream of being football stars, lawyers or doctors. I wanted to clean, cook, and decorate. Again, strange, but true! Now that I have my home, I love decorating it and look forward to remodeling projects and finding ways to save money while not cutting important corners. I have quite a few projects in my future, and I am excited to share them with all of you. Most of the big projects my husband seems to take over, but I would like to try and become a little more handy too. We will see how that goes, but I will keep you updated along the way.

However, yesterday was not about my home and projects. An event my dad and I attended many years when I was young is Homearama. It is basically a builder’s showcase for new construction and puts local contractors on display while advertising the talents of area-wide interior designers. After a four year break, in many parts due to the economy and related lack of buying interest, it is back for this year. My dad and I decided to attend and invited my mom to join us too.  We met up yesterday after work first for dinner, and then on to view the homes.

DSCN2236

I loved the beautiful front door!

DSCN2237

Gorgeous Dark Hardwood Floors.

DSCN2239

Intricate tile work.

 

DSCN2241

Good Advice!

 DSCN2244 

Stone Backsplash in the Basement Bar Area.

DSCN2245

Amazing Movie Theatre Room.

DSCN2246

Loved so Many Details in this Craftsman Home.

DSCN2247

Perfect Laundry Room!

DSCN2248

Love the ‘Locker’ Idea.

DSCN2249

Loved this Rustic-Style Kitchen.

DSCN2251

Fall Tablescape.

DSCN2252

Cozy Fireplace.

DSCN2254

Copper and Stainless Bathtub.

DSCN2256

Porch Pillars.

DSCN2258

Stone Fireplace and Wood Ceiling Beam.

DSCN2259

Matching Stone in the Kitchen and Copper Backsplash with Design.

DSCN2261

Gorgeous Exteriors.

 

Questions:

You tell me..

  • Do you enjoy looking at houses to get ideas for your own?  Have you ever attended an event like Homearama?
  • Do you have a favorite show on HGTV?  Right now I am all about Property Brothers, definitely check it out if you get time!
  • Do you have a dream home?  What does it look like?
  • Do you have a favorite picture/style of the ones I added into this post?
  • What style home do you like the most: Contemporary, Modern, Rustic, Farmhouse, Traditional, Beach, Mountain?
13 thoughts on “Dream Homes

  1. When I was younger, one of my favorite activities to do with my mom was to drive around and look at beautiful houses and talk about what we liked/disliked and what we would do if we lived there! I discovered HGTV and Trading Spaces on TLC in college and I never looked back! I love all the decorating/home improvement “stuff”! I’m not sure I have a total “dream home” – but I definitely know what I like! My current house is 97 years old – and while it has lots of drawbacks, I love its charm :)

  2. Wow what a gorgeous home!
    To be honest, I’ve never contemplated what it would be like to own and decorate my own house, but I’m sure that once I get to that stage I’ll be enthusiastic about it. Copper bathtub included ;)

  3. Wow, everything looks so beautiful and picture perfect!

    My husband and I just moved into a new construction home over the summer. It was the model home, but it’s still pretty plain; everything is neutral. I can’t wait to start tackling some projects, but we’re definitely moving slowly!

Leave a Reply

