Apple-Cinnamon Harvest Oatmeal

When it comes to breakfast, I tend to have a hard time mixing things up Monday through Friday.  I am a creature of habit by nature and it can take some encouragement to try something new in the morning.  I usually stick to a quick and easy bowl of cereal, a protein smoothie, or an easy egg sandwich on an English muffin.  These meals always taste delicious, never let me down, and are hard to mess up when I am in a hurry to get out the door.  After my first experience with protein pancakes on a Wednesday, I have some anxiety about trying new recipes during the work week.  However, on the weekends I am much more open to change.

I have been eyeing Courtney and Ashley’s ‘Custard Oats’ recipes lately, and decided to give it a try.  Custard Oats is basically stovetop oats with an egg or egg whites whisked in at the end of the cook time.  It’s an ingenious way to enjoy a hot bowl of oats while getting in a hefty dose of protein that will keep you full for the morning ahead.  After apple picking on my anniversary and eating an apple a day for a week now, I still have at least 10-15 apples left in the bag.  In order to eat all of the fruit before it goes bad, I know I will have to get creative in the kitchen.  This weekend I whipped up my own version of Custard Oats, and added a finely diced apple into the mix.

Apple-Cinnamon Harvest Oatmeal

(Serves 2)

DSCN2389

DSCN2392

Ingredients

  • 1 cup oats
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 apple, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup egg whites

Toppings:

  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons walnuts
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions

In a small saucepan over medium heat, add oats, water, salt, flax and cinnamon.

DSCN2383

Whisk together and bring mixture to a boil.  Continue stirring to keep oats from burning on the bottom of the pan, and to keep clumps from forming.

DSCN2387

Once the mixture comes to a boil, turn heat to low and add in apple and whisk in egg whites.

DSCN2388

Continue whisking for about 1 minute and let the apple heat heat through, simmering for another 2 minutes. (Cook an additional 3 minutes if you prefer apples to be less crunchy).

DSCN2390

Place oatmeal in bowls and top with 1 teaspoon sugar and 1 tablespoon walnuts on top of each serving.  Add a sprinkle of cinnamon on top.

DSCN2393

DSCN2391

DSCN2395

The oatmeal turned out tasting as good as it smelled, and it warmed our stomachs and kept us full for hours.  Serve this on a cool autumn morning to start the day in a healthy, filling and delicious way!

Questions:

  • What are your favorite apple recipes?  Feel free to link-up to the best recipes you love!
  • Have you tried custard oats before?  What are your thoughts?
  • What are your favorite add-ins, or toppings, for your bowl of oatmeal?
20 thoughts on “Apple-Cinnamon Harvest Oatmeal

  1. Mmm, these oats have “fall” written all over them! Great job working them apples ;)

    A long long time ago I was OBSESSED with egg white custard oats. I would literally add something like 6 egg whites to the mix and NO yolk at all because I thought that was the “fat part”. Pshhh

    Well, it turned out that between my gross version of custard oats and my only other egg white omelette breakfast, my body started becoming intolerant to egg whites! It was nuts, I got an allergy panel done and everything! I had to lay off of eggs completely for about 2 years, but lately I’ve been tolerating them well! However, no more gross egg white custard oats for me.. haha.

    Okay, I officially wrote another blog post in your comment section :D

    • Oh my gosh! I have never heard of something like that happening before! I am glad your body is starting to adjust back to tolerating the egg whites again. Ashley’s comment above yours mentioned adding a whole egg to make the oats more rich and ‘custard-like’ and next time I am definitely giving that a try! :) Thank you for your comment! You always have something meaningful and helpful to share!

  2. I have never tried custard oats either but I love trying new toppings for oatmeal. This weekend I had oatmeal with sliced banana, walnuts and mini chocolate chips. Then I made pumpkin steel cut oats. My favorite all time breakfast is steel cut oats with cinnamon apples (search for cinnamon apples on my blog for the recipe).

Leave a Reply

