WIAW: Glass Half-Full

When the middle of the week approaches, I like to try and look at the glass half-full, or so they say.  I could sadly announce that “We only have two work days finished and now it’s only Wednesday….sigh” or I could instead happily cheer “We’ve finished two work days and it’s now Wednesday, half way through the work week already!”

Now, truth be told, I don’t always think positively, even though I wish I did.  This week has been especially crazy at work and it has taken all I have to breathe and keep pushing through.  However, I am trying to remind myself that today is the only October 17th, 2012 I am ever going to get, so I better make it count.  I have my health, my family and friends, what more could I ask for?  Sometimes I just need a reminder!

Peas and Crayons

Today’s WIAW is from this past Sunday, which I was fortunate enough to spend at home with Tim and Tebow.  We were able to get a lot done around the house and outside.  Having the laundry finished, folded and put away, the carpet and floors vacuumed, and the lawn cut and the leaves raked before the week starts definitely makes going back to work Monday easier.

For breakfast I decided to stick with custard oats again, but instead of my Apple-Cinnamon Harvest Oatmeal, I borrowed a recipe from someone else.  I have seen Courtney’s Pumpkin Custard Oats many times on her blog and after my first custard oats success, I wanted to give it a go with my favorite fall ingredient: pumpkin!

DSCN2374

I topped my hot bowl of pumpkin oats with a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice and about a tablespoon of walnuts.

DSCN2372

DSCN2376

I served the bowl alongside a steaming cup of coffee.

Lunch featured another apple from my anniversary weekend, this time diced up and placed on top of a bed of mixed greens.

DSCN2378

Along with the apple, which added great crunch and sweetness, toppings included:

  • yellow cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 a grilled chicken breast
  • walnuts (Can you tell I am on a walnut kick?)
  • sea salt and cracked black pepper
  • Tessemae’s All Natural Italian Dressing (I found this healthy option at Whole Foods and for being oil free, it has a ton of flavor.)

DSCN2382

DSCN2379

My snack was a Green Smoothie that included:

  • almond milk
  • vanilla protein powder
  • spinach
  • banana
  • peanut butter

DSCN2399

The smoothie went in the Kenny/Tim Concert cup again!  I think I always pick it because it’s the only cup big enough to hold my massive smoothies!

DSCN2400

I guess after a cold smoothie snack, I was craving something hot and spicy for dinner because I decided to whip up a big batch of piping hot chili.

3-Bean Turkey Chili

DSCN2088

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 1 pound ground turkey or ground turkey breast
  • 1 can pinto beans
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 12 oz chicken broth
  • 8 oz water

Directions

In a large pot over medium heat, add olive oil to the bottom of the pot.  Saute onions 5 minutes until translucent, then add turkey.  Continue cooking until fully heated through.

 

DSCN2064

DSCN2067 Add black beans, pinto beans, kidney beans, and tomatoes.  Stir everything together and cook 5 minutes.

DSCN2071

 

DSCN2075

Add chili powder, chicken broth and water.  Bring the chili to a boil, and then simmer on low 10-15 minutes.  (The longer it simmers, the better the flavors)!

DSCN2078

On the side I whipped up a batch of classic Jiffy cornbread.

DSCN2082

I served my chili with a dollop of sour cream and a good sprinkle of parsley, along with a piece of buttered corn bread.

DSCN2089

Today I encourage you to look at the glass as half-full!  Make it a point to make it the best Wednesday that you can.

Questions:

  • Do you look at the glass half-full, or half-empty?
  • How do you encourage yourself when a week is tough and tiring?
  • Who has had pumpkin oats this fall season?  Any favorite recipes?
  • Are you a fan of sweet salad toppings?  What is your favorite additions to a bed of greens?
15 thoughts on “WIAW: Glass Half-Full

  1. Yum. I love chili and cornbread!

    When I was younger, my brother and I would sometimes make cornbread for breakfast. Especially if it was cold, over Christmas break, and my parents weren’t up yet, a box of Jiffy Cornbread was the perfect solution. Of course, we couldn’t use the oven at that age, but my mom taught us how to mix it up in a big bowl and microwave it. Then we would cut out huge slices on plates, drench it in Aunt Jemima syrup, and watch morning cartoons. Haha. Sorry to get all nostalgic on ya there! Just brought up some good memories :)

    • I loved your story! It is amazing how something as simple as Jiffy cornbread can remind you of such precious memories from childhood. Plus, you made me hungry just thinking about how good cornbread would taste with some syrup! Ha ha, I guess cornbread is pretty similar to hoe cakes!

  2. I haven’t had the Jiffy corn bread in along time. Looks very good. You love those pumpkin flavors!!! They look and taste very fall. Awesome!!!!

  3. Your food look delish! I’m sorry you are having a tough week at work! Hang in there girl… only 2 days left! I always make fun plans for the weekend so that I have something to look forward to! BTW.. I absolutely love that your hubby’s name is Tim and your dog’s name is Tebow!

Leave a Reply

