No Tricks, All Treats

I think it’s official now, I can no longer deny it.  That dream fall weather of temperatures in the mid-70’s is in the past as true fall made its appearance this weekend.  As much as I want to pretend, I also know that winter time seems to be just around the corner as well.  With strong winds and cool temperatures in the low 40’s, it makes me want to get out the scarves and gloves from my coat closet, which I actually did for my Sunday morning walk around the neighborhood.  Thankfully for Tebow he had on a fur coat, but I was not so lucky.  Brrr!  However, I think that the view more than made up for the chill.  Absolutely gorgeous!

IMG_0775

This weather also made for the perfect excuse to enjoy a nice fall day at my friend Meghan’s house.  We ate fall-inspired foods, made harvest treats, watched Halloween movies, and stayed warm and cozy on a cool day.

DSCN2501

It was a perfect Sunday afternoon, with the smell of yummy candles burning in the background while goodies baked in the oven.

DSCN2499

This was actually my first candy corn of the season.  If you can believe it, I actually was never ever a fan of candy corn as a kid!

DSCN2500

Apple Cider Sangria!  Meghan and I both actually had this pinned on Pinterest, great minds think alike?!  This little beauty contained club soda, apple cider, pinot grigio, and diced apples and pears.  We left out the ginger brandy, which seemed like a good idea for a Sunday afternoon, and it was still delicious.  I loved eating the apples and pears from the bottom of my glass that had been soaking in the drink.  So so good.

My contribution for a little munching was a big bowl of Katie’s Pumpkin Cookie Dough Dip.  Now let me warn you, her recipes are definitely very unique and you may look at the ingredient list and think it’s a little whacky, I know I was skeptical at first! Trust me though, this dip was amazing and no one will ever know what’s in it, or that it’s healthy, unless you share your little secret!

DSCN2494

I sampled a little on Saturday night with some animal crackers as dippers, you know, just to make sure it was okay.  Served in my little leaf bowl, which was a gift from a great friend who also likes to read the blog, hi Shannon!

I also brought with me the ingredients to make a festive Fall Spiced Granola, yet another Pinterest recipe.  Got to love Pinterest!  Remember how I can spend hours on Pinterest though, unfortunately or fortunately?  Well, I guess it turns out not all of that time is wasted! This granola was not only easy to make, but was also filled with healthy ingredients like oats, pistachios, raisins, chia seeds, ground flax, and cinnamon.  The only thing I might recommend is watching how much salt you add to the batch.  Even though the recipe called for 1 tablespoon, I think 1-2 teaspoons may have been adequate.  I suggest seasoning to taste and not to the exact recipe amount, unless you are sure you want an extra salty snack!

DSCN2502

DSCN2503

DSCN2504

Toasty and delicious!

For lunch Meghan made a turkey-pumpkin chili recipe in her slow cooker that helped to break-up our consumption of sweets all afternoon.  Plus, to stick with the pumpkin theme of course, she also added healthy pumpkin cupcakes to the mix, and her friend Katherine made a completely delicious chocolate bark layered with pretzels, caramel, and melted white and milk chocolate.  It was heavenly, and dangerous!  Let’s just say that my bag of goodness went directly in the freezer when I got home.  I could definitely see it being hard to keep my hand out of it!  Of course, when the homemade caramel consists of brown sugar and two sticks of melted butter, it’s probably going to turn out pretty rich!

DSCN2508 

Yum!  Topped with peanut butter m&m’s and candy corn.

As you can see, my Sunday was full of good friends and a lot of food.  You better believe I had quite the sugar rush yesterday afternoon and I then spent my evening curled up on on the couch, chugging some water, watching some football, and getting ready for the last couple days of October and the first of November.

Thoughts From You:

  • What is your favorite Halloween/Autumn treat?
  • Do you like candy corn?
  • Out of all the recipes mentioned, which would be your favorite to eat: pumpkin cupcakes, chocolate bark, pumpkin cookie dough dip, or fall spiced granola?
  • What did you do this weekend?
17 thoughts on “No Tricks, All Treats

  1. This looks like such a fun day! Pinterest is such a time-suck but I feel ok about it when I actually utilize some of my pins! :-)

    The pumpkin cookie dough dip sounds amazing, but so do the pumpkin cupcakes! Don’t make me choose!

  2. All of those eats look amazing! And that sangria…. oh my! I really want to try that. I’ve never been a huge candy corn fan but it’s probably because when it comes to candy, I always gravitate towards the chocolate route.

  3. Everything sounds great and so festive. I love homemade granola, the fall ingredients are all delicious. I will have to try it!!

  4. A date with girlfriends to bake Halloween goodies?! Sounds like the perfect weekend festivity to me!

    This weekend was my first time digging into candy corn too! I had been holding off every time I saw it at the store, but thought this weekend marked a long enough waiting period haha :D

Leave a Reply

