The Gift that Keeps on Giving

I have not had a gym membership since I graduated from school a year and a half ago.   After getting to workout in the ultimate gym any day I wanted, it was hard to believe any place would be able to feel at home like the Recreation and Physical Activity Center (RPAC) did in college.

 Yes, it was the most amazing gym I have ever been in, and probably ever will.  It is one of the things I miss most about the Ohio State University.  It was any exerciser’s dream, whether you love or hate to workout.

Just looking at these pictures make me miss it even more.  There were so many challenging new ways to work out that it was hard to ever get bored.  I could run laps on the track upstairs, use the elliptical in the “cardio canyon”, lift free weights in almost any section of the gym, or take as many workout classes as I could.  This is where I really learned what I like, and don’t like when it comes to exercise.  I found I love yoga and the way it makes my body stretch and my mind rest.  I enjoyed it so much, I even took a yoga class as an elective to learn the practice.  I realized I don’t enjoy kickboxing classes and every time I attended one, I could find my eyes wandering to the nearest clock to see when it would be over.  However, cycling classes were my favorite and I never seemed to get bored for the whole 60 or 90 minutes.  It was a great cardio workout that to me, was considered more fun than work. 

After graduating, I found it hard to motivate myself the way I had in college.  I no longer had the opportunity to work out whenever I wanted and to attend fun classes with my peers.  I lost a lot what I enjoyed about exercising, and suddenly it became more of a chore than a time I enjoyed. 

However, I knew exercise would be a part of my life whether I had an RPAC membership, or any gym membership for that matter.  I was able to make it work by using the treadmill at my parent’s, watching exercise tv on demand, going on walks/runs with my mom, and attempting the free weights in the basement.  It wasn’t as much fun as college, but it still got the job done.  I could wake up in the morning and stumble down the stairs with my eyes still groggy.  Before I could even process the fact I was working out so early in the morning, my workout was half way over and I was feeling the adrenaline rush that comes with the effort. 

Now that I’ve moved in to my new home, I find it difficult to find the time, energy and motivation to keep up my schedule.  Before moving, I did not have a house to clean, meals to make, dishes to wash, two people’s laundry to do, etc, etc!  As much as I don’t want to use excuses, life is busy and you have to adjust when the going gets tough. 

Enter my Christmas present, Plan A :

NordicTrack Elliptical!

I was so excited to receive this gift and knew it would provide the cardio equipment I craved at my fingertips.  For the last few months, Tim and I would run together at 5 30 am outside for about 25 minutes.  Not a long distance, but a great way to get the heart pumping.  However, it is so dark still that early, which makes it not the safest option to run by myself.  Although I was fine when Tim would go with me, I would never go alone.  This meant if he didn’t feel like exercising, then I couldn’t either.  It wasn’t fair to him, nor the best for me, to base the amount of exdercise I did  on someone else’s schedule.  Also with winter here, running outside might not always be an option.  Having indoor cardio equipment always available means I can get my workout in no matter the weather, or my husband’s schedule.

She's a beauty! Perfect position to catch up on my TiVo too!

 
I am excited this year to work on getting my routine back as well as learning and doing all kinds of exercises!  I hope to use my elliptical a few times a week while keeping up my running.  I would like to run another half marathon within the next couple years.  I want to incorporate yoga back in, as well as pilates for some strengthing to go along with my cardio.  My very good friend is training to be a Pure Barre instructor and I would love for her to teach me about her new passion.  Most of all, I want to have fun and find the love for exercise I left in Columbus.  Exercise is such a great stress reliever and energy provider that allows me to function better throughout my day.  When I take a break for a while, I usually find that I begin to crave the effects of exercise and it makes me want to get back into my pattern.  I will be sure and post about my exercise adventures and learnings as I begin my new workout approach.
 
Questions for the Readers
Do you have a gym that you find yourself most comfortable in?  If so, what makes it so special?
What are your most favorite elliptical workouts? 
3 thoughts on “The Gift that Keeps on Giving

  1. I belong to a great local gym in Atlanta where I am a personal trainer and yoga instructor. I like it because it has real people without a ton of mirrors. It has a great neighborhood feel. Great blog by the way! We have a similar focus!

  2. Pingback: Newly Wife Healthy Life

Leave a Reply

