Inspiration on a Rainy Day

Are there ever days when you feel like staying in bed when the alarm clock goes off? (Obviously!) 

DSCN0231

DSCN0219

DSCN0213

Have there ever been moments when you are exercising and wonder how much longer until the workout is over? (Duh!) 

Do you have goals in mind that feel so impossible that you figure why even try? (Absolutely!)

Well, I was having one of those days.  Upon waking up, I struggled to get myself out of my warm bed and down the stairs for my work out.  I grumbled walking out into the rain to head for work.  All I wanted to do was stay inside in my comfy clothes, cuddle up on the couch and sleep the day away. 

At lunch time though, I happened to come across an article that touched my heart and weighed heavy on mind.  A little wake up call at the noon hour was what I needed to set the course for the rest of my day.

Matthew Taylor was born 10 weeks early and his parents were told he would never walk on his own.  He was diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy when he was around 6 months old, a disease 1 in 303 US Children are born with every year. Without hesitation, his parents took the proactive approach and quickly sought out advice and began therapy. 

At 21 months old, Matthew took his first step literally, as well as figuratively by showing the world he was a fighter. He had a long road ahead though, complete with Botox injections into his muscles, surgery to lengthen his hamstring, as well as surgery to his femur. Things became even harder when he was 14 and hit a growth spurt. However, with help from a pump, a muscle relaxer was implanted under his abdomen skin that enabled Matthew to take a turn for the better. Last August he joined his school’s cross country team and ran regularly in community runs and 15Ks. 

matthew taylor running Photo Courtesy of Kim Taylor

Matthew is an inspiration to all, including Tim Tebow, the quarterback of the Denver Broncos, (and my puppy’s name sake!) who invited him to visit the Broncos’ training camp. Matthew now does motivational speaking, and has started a fundraiser for Wolfson’s Children’s Hospital. Matthew hopes to run his first full marathon when he turns 18, and at this time has permission from his doctors to run a half marathon.

Matthew Taylor and Tim Tebow Photo Courtesy of Kim Taylor

When I finished reading this story, I literally had tears welling up in my eyes as I sat in my cubicle at work.  Here is a young man whose dream was to run and who doesn’t complain about the adversity he has chosen to overcome. 

It’s sad to think I am annoyed sometimes getting up to run in the morning when there are so many people out there who physically can’t run.  There are individuals who have to stay in bed all day because they may not have the strength or ability to get up and move.  I have moments I want to stay in bed all day just to be lazy, even though I am way more than capable of getting up and doing something productive.

Although there are stories like this being told every day, it is nice to be reminded of all our blessings.  We should be thankful to be capable of going to a job in the morning.  We should appreciate the ability to work out at the gym. Instead of beating up our bodies, let’s have gratitude that we have legs to run, a stomach that can digest food, and arms that can lift our children, (or puppies!). If you want to run that half marathon, now is never too late to give it a shot.  No matter what your goals are, have faith in yourself and believe in the impossible, just like Matthew.  You really are stronger than you think you are, but you won’t know how strong until you try! 

I want to remember this story next time I say I hate exercise, or wish I was back home in bed.  Life is too short and special to waste a minute.  So today, my goal is to enjoy what I’ve been given, not dwell on what I don’t have.  Setting this plan is small step in the big picture of wanting to become more thoughtful, more caring and more appreciative every day.

 

Questions for the Readers

Do you have a goal you have accomplished that you thought was unattainable?  OR Do you have a goal you would love to accomplish, but think is unattainable?  (Now go give it a try! :-))

For me, I thought this blog was unattainable!  I was afraid to let others read my writing, but now I love sharing my words in a way I didn’t think I possibly could! 

What are some ways you remind yourself of all your blessings? 

I am reminded of my blessings every time I wake up and see my husband, spend time with my family and friends, as well as pray and give thanks for all I’ve been given.

6 thoughts on “Inspiration on a Rainy Day

Leave a Reply

