Patience is a Virtue

Saturday already..?  Sorry I went missing last night.  It was icy and sleeting around my area, which in my eyes called for a take-out, movie and cuddling on the couch kind of night.  There was a lot of this going on..

008

012 015

No.  We did not put him in this position for punishment.  This is actually how he sleeps!  A part of me feels like it needs to be censored?!

Workout

My Friday morning consisted of a quick elliptical warm-up, followed by an adaption of this workout:

leg workout

(Source)

and this one too:

tone it up girls arm workout

(Source)

Using the two workouts above, I modified them and did this:

  • 50 squats
  • 30 dead lifts, with 5 lb. weights
  • 20 backwards kicks, per leg
  • 30 bridges
  • 30 standing hamstring curls, per leg
  • 20 lunges, per leg
  • 30 sumo squats
  • 10 pushups
  • 30 bicep curls
  • 25 tummy tucks
  • 40 second plank

Wow!  I am super impressed if you can complete Julie’s workouts all the way through while keeping the number of reps the same as hers.  This definitely showed me that I need to work on my strength training way more, as opposed to only focusing on cardio.  My hamstrings and glutes are so sore today, it is painful to sit down!  I love the sore feeling though, because I know I was working muscles that I don’t usually and it is a “good” sore, if that makes sense.  It doesn’t feel like I overworked the muscles, just worked them enough!  I am now making it my goal to be able to do the whole workout straight through, without reducing reps.  It will take time for sure, but I love have something to work toward!

This abs challenge is on the agenda too!  My abs have definitely been ignored for too long.

Breakfast was my most current bowl of love:

1 cup Skim Milk

2/3 cup Kashi Go Lean (6 grams of protein!)

2/3 cup Trader Joe’s High Fiber Cereal (9 grams of fiber!)

1 tablespoon Whole Ground Flax

2 tablespoons chopped Walnuts.

032

It may not be the most photogenic bowl ever, but it keeps me full and delivers such a nutritional punch!

Lunch consisted of leftovers from Thursday night!

025

029 Sneak peak of a recipe to come!

Lesson on my Friday:

Dinner last night was carry-out from Max and Erma’s, which Tim went to pick up before the streets got too icy. Unfortunately, I think everyone else in our area was thinking the same thing, because the place was packed and at one point a man came storming in to tell off an employee.  Turns out he had been flashing his lights signaling he was there for curbside delivery.  The employees were so swamped though no one noticed, and heaven forbid he had to get up and get out of his car!  People can be so rude, and lazy, sometimes.  It was obvious to everyone in line there were not enough employees to meet everyone’s needs, but the man still had to make a point how inconvenienced he was.  With the economy right now, so many stores have downsized and it isn’t always the employee’s fault if he or she can’t perform all of the assigned duties.  Also, the employee in this situation was only a young high school student and Tim said it was obvious she was doing the best she could, just too many things on her plate to keep up.  I think we all need to be a little kinder and patient sometimes, myself included.  Try and put yourself in that person’s shoes and react in a way you would want to be treated.

027

When we got our food home, it really wasn’t photo worthy.  I ordered a bowl of simple chili and it was just okay.  It pains me to say this, but I would have rather had Wendy’s chili for the taste, and for the $5 less it would have cost me.  Sometimes we think it sounds like a great plan to get carry-out, but whenever we get it home we aren’t too happy with it.  It is usually cold, soggy, not fresh and not worth the money it costs.  I would much rather eat what I make at home and save other meals for dine-in only.  Anyone else feel this way?

I hope everyone has a great Saturday ahead!  Mine consists of friends, shopping, good food and trying to stay warm!

Questions for the Readers:

What are your plans for today?  Anything exciting or fun you have on the schedule?

What do you think of the workouts I posted?  Do you have any fitness goals you’re working toward?

Carry-out:  Yay, or Nay?

How do you keep your patience?  Any tricks you have for staying calm in unorganized, or untimely, situations?

4 thoughts on “Patience is a Virtue

  1. Since I am a more mature woman, I will need to dramatically modify this workout suggestion. I need more strength training to help with long term bone strength, Have you seen any work outs focusing on a gal like me?

    By the way, I think Tebow could be a rhythmic gymnast. That flexibility is incredible. Does he take after you?

Leave a Reply

