Easier to Make than Say

When I was visiting Costco for the first time over the weekend, I came across an item that piqued my interest. I have seen Quinoa all over healthy living blogs for quite some time now and have always wanted to try this ingredient. Remember though, we were at Costco!  I couldn’t simply scoop a small amount out of the bulk bins like at Whole Foods just to take home and sample. This my friends was a massive 4 pound bag, full of quinoa goodness!

Now you may be asking yourselves if this was the best idea. Granted, I didn’t even know if I liked quinoa and this was quite the investment. The nutritional stats themselves though pulled me in, and at $9 for the 4 pound bag, it was about half the price of the Whole Foods options. So with that, I threw it in the cart, gave Tim a don’t ask look, and we were on our way.

DSCN0908

I wanted to keep my first experiment with quinoa nice and simple. I found a basic recipe and played off those directions.

Basic Quinoa

DSCN0946

Ingredients

2 cups quinoa

6 cups water

1 teaspoon salt

Directions

Place quinoa…

DSCN0909

…3 cups water…

DSCN0911

…and salt into a pot.

DSCN0913

Stir and let sit for as long as desired. (I let sit while I was at work)

DSCN0917   DSCN0923Drain the water and rinse the quinoa.

Add 3 cups new water back into the pot with the quinoa and bring to a boil.

DSCN0930Simmer on low for 15 minutes.

Remove pot and let sit for 5 minutes.

Fluff with a fork and enjoy!

DSCN0943 I served the quinoa along with chicken breast and brussels sprouts.

DSCN0948

DSCN0949

I thought the quinoa tasted amazing!  I can definitely see myself making it all the time, especially since I have a 4 pound bag and all..!  It tastes a lot like brown rice, while adding an extra dose of protein.  I would say it’s a touch heartier tasting than brown rice, but I simply service mine with a sprinkle of salt and pepper and it was delicious.  I grated a little fresh sharp cheddar onto Tim’s to add a little extra flavor.  He enjoyed it as well!

 

Questions:

Have you every tried quinoa?  If so, what did you think?

Anyone have any yummy quinoa recipes?  Feel free to link up, I need some ideas.. 😉

What have you ever bought without knowing whether or not you would like it?

22 thoughts on “Easier to Make than Say

  1. I have never tried quinoa but it’s been on my list of things to try for forever! I’m pretty adventurous so I buy things without knowing if I will like them or not – the last thing I bought was a 40 oz bag of ground flax from Costco – not my favorite thing but I will eventually use it all up (hopefully).

  2. I tried it last week for the first time making it myself – made a salad with some chopped veggies and lemon juice and stuff in it – I really like the grainy-ness!

  3. I’ve heard of Quinoa but have never been daring enough to buy it (or try and say it outloud). You do make it look very easy here and I hear its a healthy food which I love. I might need to venture out of my comfort zone and try this as well.

  4. I bought chia seeds in a larger size jar without knowing if I would like it, but it was good!
    I really like the leftover quinoa with random things like sun-dried tomatoes, chicken, beans, tiny bit of olive oil and balsamic vinegar… basically a bunch of things in your pantry of fridge that taste good together. It makes for a good, quick lunch or dinner.

  5. I like to make Quinoa with los sodium chicken broth, it adds tons of flavor! I also like to mix it with Brown Rice so you get two different textures in there. I’ve also made Quinoa Sweet Potato cakes before too! Im wanting to try it for breakfast soon, Ive read some recipes about that.

  6. Pingback: WIAW: Spooky Halloween Supper | Newly Wife Healthy Life

Leave a Reply

