13.1 miles or bust!

Lately I have been a little hush-hush about what I’ve been up to when it comes to my work outs.  For awhile there I was feeling unmotivated, bored with working out at home, and basically needed a challenge that would make my exercise feel purposeful.  You see, I have always seemed to work better with a goal and it’s easier to motivate myself when I know I am working toward an achievement.  It allows me to ignore the excuses in my head since I know my goal won’t be met by skipping the training. 

That my friends is why I am training for my second half-marathon, and have even encouraged my husband to do it with me!  This makes me so happy since he is with me on all of my training runs, as opposed to me going at it alone.  It is a great way for us to bond and share an experience together and encourage one another.  I have been slow to really get into detail with the training since many of you may remember me admitting that I suffer from chronic fatigue syndrome.  I don’t want to run my immune system down and get sick, so I am trying to listen to my body and not overdo the training.  However, I am at the point now where I feel like no matter what happens, I am okay sharing the news!  I am so far doing great, and continue to give myself plenty of rest days and am taking in the proper nutrition to re-fuel.  If you ask me what plan I am using, I really couldn’t tell you.  I am basically going with my own plan since I know my body and what works best to keep it healthy and feeling energized.  I knew I personally didn’t want to  run more than 3 days a week to make sure my body gets rest, and luckily Tim agrees with me since he thinks running more than that would drive him a little crazy!  We are about 3 weeks into training so far, and this is what our runs have looked like up to this point:

Saturday, February 25th:  3 miles in 28:13

Monday, February 27th:  2 miles in 17:45

Wednesday, February 29th:  2 miles in 17:10

Sunday, March 4th:  4 miles in 39:29

Monday, March 5th:  2 miles in 17:30

Friday, March 9th:   5 miles in 48:31

Basically the plan is two short runs a week, and one ‘long’ run on the weekend.  We started with 2 miles on Monday and Wednesday with a long run on Saturdays.  Since we reached 5 miles on our long run, we are now transitioning to 2 miles on Monday, 3 miles on Wednesday, and the long run on the weekend goes up by 1 mile each week.  That means this week’s runs will look like this:

Monday, March 12th:  2 miles (completed in 17:01)

Wednesday, March 14th:  3 miles

Saturday, March 17th:  6 miles

The next week will look like this:

Monday, March 19th:  2 miles

Wednesday, March 21st:  3 miles

Saturday, March 24th:  7 miles

Make sense?  We are also being very flexible with our days, because let’s be honest, life happens!  As much as I want to run my little heart out at this race, I also want to have fun and enjoy the training.  Like I admitted in my goals, I need to enjoy the present moment instead of always trying to get to that finish line.  As you can see, this past week I only ran once.  We could have fit in another run, but the truth is that I decided Wednesday to take Tebow on a 1.5 mile walk, (that was as far as I wanted to push him since he is 5 months old and still gets tired pretty easily on long walks), instead of running by myself.  The weather was absolutely gorgeous and Tim decided to golf, so my options were to run alone or not run at all.  I decided to meet in the middle and take a walk with my pup instead.  Since I ran Sunday and Monday back-to-back, I didn’t think my body would mind if I took a little break.  I also knew that our upcoming weekend running schedule was going to be thrown off too.  I headed to Columbus Friday with my mom for a little shopping and girl time, so setting an early alarm on Saturday morning did not sounds appealing.  Since we both like to sleep in on our weekends and prefer not to run on Sunday’s when possible, we decided to hold our 5 mile run after work on Friday.  We knew by the time we got home and out the door it would be close to 6, which meant we would be racing daylight.  In all honesty though, I didn’t mind at all because going on a run with my husband while the sun was setting in the distance was truly one of the most romantic moments of my life.  The weather was cool and crisp, but I was layered up and feeling warm and cozy.

Along with running 3 times a week, we now have the gym memberships we’ve been waiting to get.  We are hoping to go Tuesdays and Thursdays for strictly circuit training, weights, yoga, abdominal exercises, etc.  We think this will help mix up the weeks and split up the training sessions so they don’t become overwhelmingly exhausting or feel like a burden.  We also hope that building our strength will allow us to avoid injury as best as possible.

So what is the race we are working toward?

The Flying Pig Half Marathon

The race is May 6th and our goal is to get our mileage up to an 11 miler 2 weeks before the race.  After that we will start tapering our runs.  This is my second half marathon so my goal is to simply finish, have fun, and to beat my original half marathon time of 2:16:08.  I will keep you all updated on my training.  Let the race begin!

Questions:

What are your current race or exercise goals?

What is the longest distance you’ve ever ran?

How do you keep training for a race feel fun and exciting?

23 thoughts on “13.1 miles or bust!

  1. Awesome! I’m currently training for the Toledo Glass City Half which will immediately lead into my training for the Half Rev3 Ironman distance. Yikes! Super stoked though. My longest distance I’ve ran is 13.1 miles To keep things exciting I sometimes listen to music, sometimes go gadget free to feel free, mix up my running routes, and add in cross-training. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the Flying Pig. Happy training!

  2. Congrats on signing up for your half! I’m running a half marathon this Sunday (my first!). When I was training, I mixed it up by changing up the music I listened to on each run, switched up the route, and did interval workouts on the treadmill the days I was forced to run inside. I also incorporated spin classes once a week for cross training and it was the best decision I ever made. I got so much stronger because of it! Best of luck to you and your hubby during training!

  3. CONGRATS! I have always wanted to run that half! It’s so awesome your hubby is doing it with you, too!

    My current race I’m training for is a half marathon in May.

    The longest distance I’ve ran is 13.1 miles.

    I change up my run and take different paths, trails, to keep it interesting!

  4. Love your energy girl!!! Good for you!! I’ve ran 1 race ever and it was last year and it was 8miles…thought I was going to die! HAHA!! Running isn’t my thang, but my man on the other hand does like fulls and a whack of halfs all the time! EEKKK!! I should get better at running I think!!

    xxoo

  5. The longest I ran is a half marathon- I’ve done 4 of them, but no mas running for this lady! It burns way too many calories for me to make up & those halves were so hard on my knees.

    I like to take a spin class or pump class every once in a while for variety & to shock the body. I can’t wait for summer cause we will go camping and hiking and play tennis and all sorts of exciting stuff!!

  6. I’m so glad you have your husband to train with you and run the race together. I’ve been trying to get my boyfriend or brothers to run, and it’s usually without success :P
    It’s also great that you listen to your body so well! I know you have to be more vigilant with wearing yourself out, but it’s actually something that all of us should be doing, too. I have overdone it a couple times and got sick twice in February.
    I’m excited to read about the journey up to raceday! Thanks for sharing this goal with us!

  7. Aww, awesome! I’m so glad that you and Tim are doing it together! That has to make training so much better. And I’m glad you aren’t following some plan and are listening to your body- I definitely think that will help you have the best outcomes :)

    • Oh for sure girl! It is always more fun to have an exercse buddy! I will keep you updated on how my ‘plan’ is going. I think it should be titled ‘Going with the Flow Half Marathon Training.’ LOL sounds effective right?! :-)

  8. Hooray for having a new race to train for! It always makes me more motivated to train. I might have a similar post coming soon :-)

    Good luck girl, keep up the hard work in training!

  9. Pingback: Dust Yourself Off « Newly Wife Healthy Life

Leave a Reply

