Conflicting Food Arguments

With a whole week Wednesday to Wednesday, you would think I could remember to photograph one day’s eats.  It seems like time just flies though and before I know it the day is Wednesday again and my participation in WIAW is not up to par.  The following may not be an entire day’s eats, but it was one meal that really stood out in my mind.  It was supposed to be a take on a Philly Cheesesteak, but when I realized I laid out a rib eye instead of a flank steak, my ‘what’s for dinner?’ plan began to change.  In exchange: enter the ever so manly ‘Steak Sandwich’!  Yes, you might say that this was a winner in Tim’s eye.  Not much to complain about from me either.  It was tasty, filling, easy, and full of protein.  I came across this article today about red meat and the health concerns of consumption.  However, don’t we battle this issue every day and know the side effects?  One day there is an article that red meat is perfectly fine, and then the next day it is killing you.  Then there is an article to avoid eggs, the very response article might later say they are an amazing nutritional powerhouse.  The same thing with bananas.  Although they are higher on the glycemic index scale, which is why dieters are told to avoid them, they are filled with nutrients and potassium that our body needs.  Here is the thing once again:  Everything should be enjoyed in moderation.  I personally don’t mind red meat and I know my husband loves it, so we will have it 2 or 3 times a week, which includes lunch and dinner.  That works for us, but every one needs to make their own choice.  It is important to always remember that anything in excess in unhealthy, whether it’s food, drinking, lack of sleep, etc.  Moderation is where we will find that healthy living balance we are looking to achieve.

Philly-Inspired Steak Sandwich

DSCN1291

Ingredients

8 oz rib eye

1 green bell pepper

DSCN1254

1/2 carton button mushrooms

1/2 medium onion

1 tablespoon Worcestershire

Cooking Spray

Salt & pepper

2 sandwich rolls or bread of choice

 

Directions

Heat oven to 425 degrees.

Thinly slice pepper, mushrooms and onion.  Place on baking dish.

DSCN1259

Spray veggies with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and drizzle with Worcestershire sauce.

DSCN1261

Place in oven and bake for 15 minutes.

DSCN1277

Heat grill pan over medium heat.  Sprinkle steak with salt and pepper, and brown rib-eye for 5 minutes on each side.

DSCN1262

DSCN1264

Place steak aside and let sit 5-10 minutes.  Then thinly slice meat against the grain.  (I would recommend cutting steak into bite size pieces.  Although it looked nice, the meat was hard to bite out of the sandwich.  I also made two 8 oz. slices because they were frozen together.  Tim and I both shared one).

DSCN1273 I also made roasted kale chips as a side dish.  I simply sprayed with oil, sprinkled with salt and pepper, and baked at 425 degrees for 10 minutes.

DSCN1268

DSCN1278

I also hollowed out a slice of French bread for Tim, as well as removed the inside dough of a whole wheat sandwich bun for me.  I stacked the sandwich as follows:

DSCN1279

DSCN1280

DSCN1282

DSCN1290

Questions:

How do you handle nutrition choices when there are such conflicting arguments about the health of certain foods?

How do you moderate your meal choices?

What is your favorite meal that makes the ‘naughty’ list UNLESS enjoyed in moderation?!

21 thoughts on “Conflicting Food Arguments

  1. I never really eat red meat, but recently I’ve been having a bite or two of the hubby’s steak and really liking it. Do you know what is the most lean cut of steak?

    For me indulging in a big bowl of store bought granola is an indulgence- I know this sounds wierd, but granola can be pretty unhealthy depending on the brand.

  2. it is hard to know what’s best sometimes when there’s constantly conflicting arguments, but i think you said it best… moderation is key!
    these sandwiches look GREAT! i’m not even a big red meat person, and i think they look fantastic. my husband would love these!!

  3. Looks fantastic! I just figure there is almost always going to be an argument for an against on things like food, so unless it’s a definite ‘do not eat’ then I just go for it.

  4. Eggs and bananas are basically consumed every day for me. I try to limit my egg-consumption to 2, and my banana to just one (it’s usually one BIG one).

    I also eat a butt-ton of peanut butter, and that could definitely go on the naughty list if I eat more than the weak 2 tablespoons-serving… which happens pretty often, hehe.

  5. Was the article you read from Livestrong.com? I got the weekly newsletter from them today in my email, and it was about red meat! I haven’t gotten a chance to sit down and read it yet. I love reading their articles; however, I agree that there is a constant battle of what is “good” and “bad” in the nutrition world. It can be rather frustrating.

  6. This looks ahhh-mazin! We just made these for super bowl recently and they were delish – you’re right everything in moderation is fine! My naughty list is definitely a hamburger and french fries, love me some grease every once in a while!…with a beer 🙂

  7. I better not show my boyfriend this post – he will be mad at me for not cooking him steak in such a long time 🙂

    I love reading about food arguments – it’s part of the reason I want to be a dietitian: to help clear up confusion for people! I agree with what you said about having everything in moderation. As long as we’re eating a balanced diet with lots of fruits and veggies and avoiding processed-anything, there can’t be much wrong with it!

Leave a Reply

