Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

Pictures are sometimes just so cute, it’s hard to look away.

DSCN1419

Whenever I see photos of our puppy Tebow, my heart feels full and I can’t help but swoon over this little guy.

DSCN1420

Even when he is eating dandelions…

DSCN1421

…yep, even then.

DSCN1422

Not all pictures are cute though, especially this one.

DSCN1412

What it lacks for in appearance though, it makes up for on the inside.  So what is that pile of ingredients that I call food?  Well my friends, that is a homemade Whole Wheat Bread.  I haven’t had a problem with my bread machine yet, but I think the issue was that the flour was too cold.  I keep my sugar and flour in the freezer to stay fresh between use, but I was too impatient and didn’t wait for the flour to come to room temperature. 

DSCN1413

It may not be pretty, but it sure did taste good!  Especially when hot, and slathered with a nice smear of butter. 

100% Whole Wheat Bread

 

DSCN1415

The steam was even fogging up the camera lens!

 

(Recipe from my bread machine’s recipe book)

Ingredients

1 and 5/8 cups water

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons salt

4 and 2/3 cups whole wheat flour

3 teaspoon active dry yeast

Directions

First pour water in the bread machine, then add in dry ingredients.  Build a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add in yeast.  (Do not let yeast touch the liquid).

Set bread maker to the Whole Wheat setting and let the machine do all the work.  In just a few hours, you’ll have fresh bread that should be a lot easier on the eyes than my own loaf!

DSCN1418

 

Questions:

Are you a picture lover who has tons of framed photos in your house?  (I do for sure!)

Who or what is in some of your favorite pictures?

Have you made anything in the kitchen  lately that looks ugly, but tastes delicious? (Don’t judge a book by its cover)!

11 thoughts on “Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

  1. I have always been a huge “picture person”…. There is nothing I enjoy more than looking around me and seeing people I love smiling. I have so many!!

  2. Whenever I make overnight oats, it looks like someone yacked in a jar of peanut butter, so I usually don’t photograph it.
    Hahaha even though it looks kind of funny in the first few pictures, it actually looks really good in the photos where you slice into it!
    And thank you for the note about the temperature of the ingredients. We have most of ours in the freezer as well, so it’s a good thing to be aware of when baking.

  3. We tend to have quite a few pictures of our travels scattered throughout our house. It reminds us of the fun trips we’ve taken. 🙂 And I’ve definitely made my fair share of ugly looking recipes! I made a cake last week that didn’t look too special, but it tasted amazing!

  4. Tebow is looking quite guilty over that dandelion. He is getting so big. Nothing better than taking the fresh bread, not following the rules and slicing it while its hot. Yum. It looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

