Slow Cooker Turkey Lasagna

The slow cooker is my best friend on busy weekdays.  However, my one big complaint about this time-saving machine: browning ground meat.  This cannot be done in the slow cooker and the raw meat has to be fully cooked in a skillet before adding to the slow cooker.  It absolutely makes sense as to why this needs to be done, but that doesn’t make it any easier to justify that extra step that must be done before I head to work in the morning.  I think my plan is to brown up a big batch on the weekend, then put it in the freezer in single meal servings.  That way I can just pull the cooked meat out of my freezer and add it to my slow cooker when needed.

This meal does not give you the chance to skip that dreaded step, but it is super easy and is a great comfort dish after a long day.

 

Slow Cooker Turkey Lasagna

DSCN1331

Ingredients

1 lb. Ground Turkey

Half diced Onion

2 cloves minced Garlic

Olive Oil

1 bottle Marinara Sauce (Pick your favorite!  I used a Trader Joe’s brand, mushroom marinara.)

1 box no-cook Lasagna Noodles

1 container Cottage Cheese

1 teaspoon Dried Basil

1 teaspoon Dried Oregano

Directions

In a large skillet over medium heat, drizzle olive oil and add onion, cooking for 3-5 minutes.  Then, add in garlic and cook an additional 2 minutes.  Add in ground turkey and brown.  Pour in marinara sauce and sprinkle in basil and oregano.

DSCN1317 

Next, start the layering process.  Start with the sauce on the bottom of the slow cooker, then add noodles, cottage cheese, sauce, noodles.  Repeat:  noodles, cottage cheese, sauce, noodles, continued and ending with sauce.

DSCN1319

DSCN1321

DSCN1322

DSCN1325

DSCN1327

DSCN1329

Cook on Low for 8 hours.

DSCN1334

That is it!  So simple, easy ingredients, and an easy clean up.  I served this along a bed of mixed greens, drizzles with a Red Wine Vinegar and Olive Oil Vinaigrette.

 

Questions:

What are your favorite tricks for using your slow cooker?

Out of curiosity: Does anyone use slow cooker liners?  I have been tempted to buy them, but want to make sure they are worth the $!

13 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Turkey Lasagna

  1. What a great idea!!! I use my slow cooker all the time but never thought to make a lasagna! I have bought the liners before, and although they make life muuuuccchhh easier with the cleanup, your right, super expensive! If you are making something that you think would be a pain to clean out, its definetly worth it!

  2. I so want to make this, but the burners in our hotel room stink, so it would probably take an hour to brown that turkey meat!! ;) But I love the idea of making lasagna in the slow cooker … it’s nice to make things OTHER than soups and stews! :)

    • Can you believe that I actually haven’t ever made soup/stew in my slow cooker? I don’t know why, but making soup always scares me! Ha I think it is a texture thing and I don’t want to make it to watery. I may just have to bite the bullet though!

  3. I totally agree about the whole browning meat thing — so annoying & kind of defeats the purpose! This looks really good though, so I might have to suck it up! Maybe I’ll make it Monday when I’m home from work?

    I’ve used the liners & yes, they work!

  4. I made a good amount of dishes using the slow cooker and all my friends are always impressed when I bring it over, thinking that I spent an hour or more at the stove, hahaha.
    It’s seriously awesome when you come home from a long day and the house smells like an awesome dinner!
    This lasagna recipe looks pretty simple to make! Thanks!

  5. This looks so good! I love lasagna, and my slow cooker. I made chicken parm in the slow cooker last night and it was delicious. I just love coming home from work/school and smelling a delicious dinner that requires no work on my part!

  6. Pingback: Let’s Get Cooking | Pamcakes & Coffee

Leave a Reply

