Do the Next Thing

Whenever I go home, it is always nice to be reminded of what really matters.  Faith and family are two of the most important things in my life and I was lucky to celebrate both this past weekend.  Easter holds such fond memories for me:  from past fun at Easter egg hunts to the excitement of opening my Easter basket Sunday morning.  There are such wonderful activities that come with the holiday and hold a special place in my heart.  This year it was awesome to watch my nieces and nephews run after the hidden eggs, trying to find the candy and money buried inside.  Seeing their smiling faces made my day and allowed me to reminisce on my own childhood that was filled with the same laughter that filled yesterday’s air.  Although I am not a kid anymore, I enjoyed staying at my parent’s house Saturday night and sleeping in my old room. I was also still excited to check out my basket when I woke up Easter morning that my mom still makes for my brother, Tim and I (she gave me gift cards to Marshall’s, Starbucks, and Panera Bread, lots of Esther Price chocolate, and I received two sets of awesome KitchenAid measuring cups!).

However, as fun as the above was, there was nothing like spending the weekend with the people I love and focusing on what really matters in life.  I think sometimes it is so easy to get wrapped up in the external aspect of life:  looks, money, job success, etc.  I especially appreciate Easter, because it makes me take a step back and really focus on my Lord and Savior.  He died on the cross and rose again so that my sins would be forgiven.  It is hard to really understand what that means even at my age, but the truth is that I sin every single day and need that forgiveness.  I am not perfect, but because of God’s grace I can start again each and every moment, or day.  We all have the option of beginning with a clean slate.It doesn’t matter what we have done, or where we have been because no one is turned away. Isn’t that incredible?

My mom’s favorite saying is always ‘Do the Next Thing.’  Even if you are having a hard day yesterday, or right this moment, take a deep breath and start over.  Ask for forgiveness and move on from past mistakes.  Today is a brand new day and there is no point dwelling on past issues or concerns.  Make this the best Monday ever, and make tomorrow the best Tuesday, etc.  Who we were does not have to correlate to who we are today, or who we are tomorrow.  I urge you to go out to work, school, the gym, grocery, wherever you have to be this morning with kindness in your heart and a smile on your face.  You never know who you will encourage, and in doing so you may even brighten your own life.

 

Have a wonderful Monday!

 

Questions:

How do you do the next thing?

How was your Easter?

9 thoughts on “Do the Next Thing

  1. Easter was great! I love to celebrate that day the Lord came to life and defeated death and sin, and saved us.
    My Easter was also full of chocolates (and other sweets). Everyone was giving me sweets/dessert because that’s what I gave up for 40 days or so during Lent.
    Now I need to get back to my normal eating, hehe.
    Wonderful post (as always :D)!

  2. I loved reading this to start my week 🙂 It’s going to be a pressure-filled week (State testing at school!) and I need to keep in mind that every day is a new day!

  3. I love this post. It really does put everything in perspective and create a focus on what matters in life. Every day is a gift. Make a difference, Do the next thing!

Leave a Reply

