Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Happy Friday!  This week has flown by and if you hadn’t noticed, there were a few less blog posts this week.  I want to be honest, as so many of you know, blogging every day is very hard.  I don’t always have something to say (gasp) and most days there just aren’t enough hours in the day to really put as much thought, time and effort into my posts as I want.  I use this blog not only to share recipes and moments in my own life, but to also improve my writing skills and have fun.  Blogging shouldn’t be stressful, it should be a way to express my thoughts and take time for myself, and I don’t ever want to forget that.

For today I have a super easy, five ingredient fiesta to share with you.  I had four whole wheat tortillas from Trader Joe’s left in the refrigerator, and on their last leg.  I knew I wanted to use them up and remembered that I also had a can of enchilada sauce in the cupboard.  I had never made enchiladas before, but I figured how hard can they be?  Besides, I knew I was going to make them my own way so even though I didn’t have all the traditional enchilada recipe ingredients, I thought I could make it work.

 

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

DSCN1495

Ingredients

2 chicken breasts

1/2 packet of taco seasoning

1 can refried beans

4 whole wheat tortillas

1 can red enchilada sauce

 

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large pot over medium-high heat, bring water to boil and add in chicken.  Continue to boil and cook chicken for 14-16 minutes until fully cooked.

DSCN1482

Using a hand mixer, carefully shred chicken.

DSCN1485

Add in 1/2 cup water and taco seasoning.  Mix well.

DSCN1486

Stir in beans. (It won’t be attractive, but it will taste good.  I promise!)

DSCN1487

Lay one tortilla out flat.

DSCN1488

Add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of chicken mixture to the center of the tortilla.

DSCN1489

Roll up tortilla and place in an oven safe dish.

DSCN1490

Continue the same process with the rest of the tortillas.  (You may have leftover mixture, but I just froze the rest of mine to use another day, for a different meal)!

DSCN1491

Pour enchilada sauce over tortillas and place in the oven.

DSCN1494 Bake for 10-12 minutes until heated through, (remember, the filling is already fully cooked so we are really just warming everything up).  I also broil on high 1-2 minutes to get a crispier crust on the tortilla.

DSCN1496

That’s it!  Dinner is served in just about 25 minutes.  Feel free to top your enchilada with sour cream, lettuce, cheese, salsa, or anything else that may sound appealing.

 

Questions:

Are you an enchilada fan?

Do you tend to follow a recipe, or make one up as you go along?

What is your favorite way to use up ingredients on their ‘last leg?’

If you’re a blogger, why do you choose to be one?  Is there ever time when you just don’t want to be on a blog schedule?

7 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Enchiladas

  1. hmmm this sounds so yummy! I definitely don’t blog on the weekends. It’s become a rule for myself. If there’s something special going on, I might do a quick post, but I like to be able to fully enjoy my weekend without worrying about updating the blog all the time.

  2. yum! i LOVE enchiladas! your method looks super simple too, which i also love! am i the only one that hasn’t shredded chicken with a hand mixer before? i never even thought of it before! i totally need to try it. i usually just use two forks!

  3. The enchiladas look great!
    As far as blogging, I started to share my struggles from the past in hopes that someone who is going through something similar can find encouragement and hope. I also want to get people moving and sweating!
    I try to blog once a day, but since I have a super flexible schedule right now (and not many responsiblities like a house, bills, or children) I can sometimes blog more than once.

Leave a Reply

