Weekend Musings

After a nice and long four day weekend, I think it is safe to say I am actually looking forward to going back to work today.  Don’t get me wrong, I love being home and catching up on those things I long to do throughout the week, but it really is nice to have a schedule and get back into a routine.  However, if I had a four day weekend ever week, I don’t think you would catch me complaining!

I am one of those people who have a hard time sitting down when I am home.  In hindsight, I wish I would have taken a nap yesterday, but it is hard to sit still when I have laundry, vacuuming, and dishes beckoning me to  clean.  However, I was able to catch up on a movie I have DVR’d for months (Water for Elephants – It was actually pretty good.  I haven’t read the book, but I love Reese Witherspoon so I had a feeling I would enjoy it.), met my husband for lunch at Panera, made a couple quick shopping runs to Target and Hobby Lobby (Does anyone else love that store as much as me?), go for a 2 mile run (the half marathon is Sunday!), finished all cleaning, and ended the night watching a couple shows I enjoy while a candle burned next to me and sent the smell of warm vanilla into the air.  A very relaxing, and very much needed night!

I am headed into work early today and want to quickly share some pictures from my weekend.

IMG_0533

Someone is getting too big to be a lap dog, but don’t tell him that!

IMG_0547

He also found a new way to accommodate his long legs when sitting..

 IMG_0551

Ha ha I have no idea how this is comfortable, but he sure seemed to enjoy it!

 

IMG_0549

Sunday my parents came over and we had a nice brunch of waffles and turkey bacon.

 

IMG_0536

IMG_0539

IMG_0544

I got to use my huge serving platter, which I was excited about!

IMG_0545

I also got to show them the Crate and Barrel Wine Rack they gave us for Christmas!  It finally went up last week, and it looks gorgeous if I do say so myself!

 IMG_0557

IMG_0558

Another change to the house?  Out with the old…

IMG_0546 …and in with the new!

IMG_0554

What a difference new cabinets handles make!  The brass drawer pulls had been bothering me for a while, but now I think the whole kitchen looks fresh, clean, and brand new.  It’s the little changes that make the biggest impact sometimes!

IMG_0555

On Saturday, we went to a flea market and I was able to get a couple hanging baskets for my porch.  I believe the seller said they were filled with asylums (?).

IMG_0552

IMG_0553

They make me happy!

 

Questions:

Tell me about your weekend!

Do you enjoy remodeling/decorating your house?

If you had a day off to do whatever you wanted, what would be on the agenda?

28 thoughts on “Weekend Musings

  1. I’m the same way… Whenever I have a day off I spend it catching up on things and trying to be productive… If I hang out the couch all day I feel guilty, like I’m wasting the day! I need to learn to relax and to be able to enjoy some downtime!

  2. hmmm if I had a day off and AFTER READING YOUR POST 🙂 Id spend half of it talking the husband and child into getting a black lab puppy and the rest getting said canine 🙂

  3. HAHA! Popcorn does something similar except with his front legs up at an elevation and the rest of his body pointing down. Yeah– I don’t pretend to understand… 8)

    • Ha ha I know what you mean! He was so little and cuddly when he was a few months old, but now that he is almost 7 months, he is getting too big for me to handle! Poor little guy. He is a puppy in the mind, but a dog in the body!

    • Thank you! I love it too! We actually had it on our wedding registry, but didn’t get it as a gift (we really weren’t expecting it since it was so expensive)! However, my family knew how much I loved it and went in together to buy it for us at Christmas!

  4. My days off are during the week, but this week I have Sat and Sun off for my birthday and I plan on doing a whole lot of NOTHING 🙂
    My weekends off though I usually spend getting caught up on shows I DVR’d and cooking. Other things like shampooing our carpets, end up getting put off until “next weekend”

    And I love the way the cabinets turned out! That is one of the the minor things we’re still in the process of.

  5. Your dog’s so sweet… and I LOVE the wine rack! Oh man, I am going to spend all my extra money in Crate and Barrel when I get back on that side of the pond…!

  6. I have trouble with free time and a “day off…” I want it but then I get one and I don’t really know what to do! I feel lazy and unproductive, even if there is nothing required of me! Ugh.. I want to get over this and fast.
    Great job on the home so far!

  7. Great weekend. If we didn’t work, we wouldn’t know how wonderful it is to have a day off. I always need to keep moving too. Lots to do and I always feel I could be doing something else. Enjoy that bit of down time. Good for the soul.

  8. I absolutely love that wine rack. So great! We have our wine glasses hanging upside down under our cabinets but I would love to have all of our wine, booze, glasses, etc, in one space. Looks great!

  9. That wine rack is phenomenal! Very cute. I love it that your family chipped in to get it for you. How lucky are you??

Leave a Reply

