The Best Things in Life.. Part One

They say ‘the best things in life are worth waiting for.’  I totally agree.  However, I also think the saying should be ‘the best things in life are worth waiting for and those moments fly by fast.’

I think this would explain why its 5:00 pm on a Friday, you blink, and suddenly it is a 8:00 am on a Monday.  Where, or where did my weekend go?

This weekend was another that went by fast and was filled with all the things I love most: my husband, my family, a lot of love, and even a few tears.

Friday was a date night to a new-to-us seafood restaurant.

IMG_0587

IMG_0588

I am not a huge seafood fan, but every once in a while I get a craving for something a little different.

IMG_0589

I ordered the blackened tilapia with rice pilaf and a side of broccoli.  The fish was amazing and seasoned perfectly.  I was afraid it would be too spicy for me, but a squeeze of lemon and a drizzle of butter helped to neutralize the heat.  Even better was the fact that the serving was huge and I was able to have lunch the next day all ready to go.

Friday ended with a cuddle session at home.

IMG_0590

Yep.  Perfect Friday!

Saturday I started out the morning by making egg sandwiches for Tim and I, mine on toast and his on a bagel.

IMG_0592

I love cantaloupe, but this time I didn’t pick as well at Kroger.  It was a little overripe, and a touch bland, but it still got the job done!

I also did yoga for the first time since my wedding.  I used to do Bethenny Frankel’s yoga DVD 2-3 times a week and I loved how strong it made me, and how wonderful the stretching made my body feel.  While training for my half-marathon, all other exercise seemed to fall to the wayside.  Now, yoga is back and I am looking forward to incorporating the video into my mornings a couple times per week.  However, I realize it is going to take time for me to get back to where I was.  My arms felt tired and my legs were like jello by the end of the DVD.  It was a great work out, and I had forgotten how tough it can be!

After my yoga session I took Tebow on a walk in perfect spring weather: 72 degrees!  He hadn’t been out much this week due to my resting from the half-marathon, so I wanted to take him on a long one. 

DSCN1569

About 4 miles later we were home, and someone was ready for a nap.

DSCN1565

Yep.  Looks like I did my job and wore this guy out.  Not an easy task at all!

Saturday night we were headed to my parent’s house to stay the night and celebrate Mother’s Day.  We were going to grill out so I went ahead and prepped the meals before we left our house.

I sliced zucchini and yellow squash.

DSCN1557 

Sliced yellow and orange peppers.

DSCN1558

DSCN1561 Added button and portabella mushrooms to the mix.

DSCN1563

Then drizzled the whole thing with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt, pepper, and Herbs Provence.

DSCN1564

When we got to my parents’, we just threw the veggies into a grill basket and cooked them all the way through.

I also worked on forming the hamburger patties, which I seasoned with a touch of olive oil, Worcestershire, sea salt, black pepper, and paprika.

DSCN1567

The chicken breasts were drizzled with olive oil, Savory seasoning, sea salt, and black pepper.

DSCN1568

I packed it all up and Tim and I headed over to my parents.

DSCN1570

Oh, don’t be sad Tebow.  You are coming too!

To be continued..

 

Questions:

What did you do for Mother’s Day weekend?

Have you ever tried Bethenny Frankel’s yoga video?  If so, what do you think?

Are there any other yoga DVD’s you love?  I am always looking for suggestions!

20 thoughts on “The Best Things in Life.. Part One

  1. I’m always hesitant to buy workout DVDs because some are such a rip off… Thanks for sharing a good one! I’ve been wanting a yoga DVD for awhile now!

  2. I like the yoga one from the P90X series (except I only do it to the 50 minute mark instead of the whole 90 minutes). There’s also free ones from Hulu that you can check out. The ExerciseTV one called Cardio Yoga is pretty fun and a little different from just traditional yoga.
    I’m excited to read the next post!

  3. Fun weekend recap! 🙂 We didn’t do too much for Mother’s Day because neither of our moms live around here. But we served at church yesterday, and it was fun seeing all of the moms with their families!

  4. i agree, all the best moments in life seem to fly by way too quickly!! i wish that didn’t have to happen. it sounds like you had a great weekend though! i want to try out that Bethenny Frankel yoga video… where did you buy it?

  5. I could not agree more… when things are going well, time just flies by! Craziness, but definitely gives us more incentive to try and enjoy the moments as much as possible! You look like you had such a nice weekend Jana 🙂

Leave a Reply

