The Best Things in Life.. Part Two

If you haven’t read Part One of the Weekend Recap, check it out here.

Tim, Tebow and I packed up our overnight bags and headed to my parents’ house Saturday night to spend Mother’s Day weekend with my mom.  Since Tim was golfing until 6 pm, I knew everyone would be hungry for dinner by the time we arrived so I had already prepped the food for the grill beforehand.  That way, all we would have to do was unload and grill!

When we arrived, the first thing I did was say hi to my other dog, my parents’ dog Lucky.  It is hard for me to believe, but Lucky is almost 15 years old and last week she was diagnosed with lymphoma.  My family and I are, needless to say, devastated.  Before Tebow, Lucky has been the only pet I have ever had, but more than just that, she is a part of our family.  Our Mother’s Day celebration dinner began with a few tears, but it was also full of laughter as we relived all of the funny things she has done throughout her life.  If any dog has brought joy to its family, Lucky is one of them.

As we fired up the grill, we continued to reminisce over the good times in the past.  Why is it that the best things in life seem to be fly by?  And, how do we ever forget that the important moments in life revolve around family and friends?  Not money.  Not looks.  People.

Dinner was quite the feast and I filled my plate up with half a hamburger on a bakery-soft bun, a small piece of chicken breast, corn on the cob, and fresh grilled veggies.

DSCN1573

DSCN1575

To finish off the Mother’s Day feast, my mom had made homemade yellow cake and chocolate buttercream cupcakes.  Reminded me of my childhood.

DSCN1576

The rest of the night was spent enjoying each other’s company, laughing, crying, and telling old stories.

Saturday morning, I slept until after 9:00 am.  As a girl who usually gets up at 7:30 am on the weekends, this was quite the feat!  We laid around for just a little bit while sipping on coffee and reading the ads in the paper.  We were planning on going out to brunch, but at this point we knew getting seated anywhere might have been next to impossible considering it was 10:30 am on Mother’s Day.  Instead, my mom and I decided to whip up breakfast together.

I made a 5 egg omelet that was filled with melted colby jack cheese.

DSCN1579 For my dad, simply two eggs over easy.

DSCN1580

Also on the menu was waffles, of course!

 

DSCN1581

I added to my plate 1/4 of the omelet, fresh sliced strawberries, and two waffle squares topped with toasted walnuts, warm syrup, and dollops of whipped cream.

DSCN1582

A perfect Mother’s Day brunch indeed!

DSCN1583

After breakfast, we headed back outside to spend time sitting with Lucky.  Again, tears were shed as we petted her, told her how much we loved her, and said our goodbyes.  At this point, we have still not come to a decision, but we surely know we won’t allow her to suffer.  She has been too amazing of a dog to not show her respect and to make sure she is happy and comfortable.  Until then, we will say our prayers, ask for guidance, and show her plenty of love.

 

Questions:

Finish this sentence:  The Best Things in Life are…

Tell me about your first dog?  What did he/she mean to you?

How do you handle bad news?  Do you lean on others, or are you more of an introvert?

What is your favorite meal to grill?

23 thoughts on “The Best Things in Life.. Part Two

  1. My heart breaks for you…. Saying goodbye to a dog is like saying goodbye to a family member. We had to put my first dog Holly to sleep a few years back and it was devestating, but the right choice. Sending you virtual hugs!!!!

  2. I’m so sorry about your dog. Dogs are a part of the family, and making that kind of decision is so hard! We had to put our family dog down in November, and we cried all through Thanksgiving! But we were so thankful that she had been with us for so long, and like you had so many good memories with her. My husband and I just got our own dog, and it’s crazy how fast they become a part of the family!!

    • I am so sorry about your dog Jessie 😦 I agree with you though, I feel so thankful for all the wonderful memories she has given us. My husband and I adopted our dog on New Year’s Eve, and I never thought I would be so attached, but he’s our baby!

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your dog, Jana! Losing a pet is so hard. My family’s dog is 8 years old now and she’s blind in her eye (she only has one from a little accident she got into with our cat as a puppy) and has pretty bad arthritis. We know that day will come where we will have to make that decision. It’s really tough, but we know that it’s for the good of our family member’s (cause a dog is a member of the family, in my opinion) health and well being.

    • Aww your poor puppy, I am sorry to hear about her struggles! It is terrible to watch a dog in pain, and I wish so much they could tell us how they are feeling. And I 100% agree with you: A dog is a member of the family!

  4. I’m so sorry about your dog 😦 I have had only one dog (the one I have now) and I’ve had him for less than a year and he is already the love of my life. But I’m sure she is feels so blessed to have been a part of your family for 15 years! My prayers are with you and your family!

  5. I think I will be a wreck when those days comes with my dog, Vanna. Right now, she’s such a happy and energetic dog (3 years old), and I’ll do what I can to make sure she lives a life full of playing, running, petting, cuddling, and wagging her tail vigorously. I’m hoping I have a miracle dog who can live a healthy 30 years.

  6. I’ve only had one dog die that I truly loved- she was a chihuahua and her name was Tinkerbell. She was only a little over a year old and died of cancerous lumps all over her body. She was the sweetest dog in the whole world & I will always remember her!

    To me, the best things/times in life are when we let our guards down and just have fun with family and friends!

  7. mmm that omelet looks so delicious!
    my first dog was half austrailian shepard half border collie..he was always really nice to me but i use to always get mad when he would steal my spot on the couch lol

  8. I’m so sorry about your family dog! I know that has to be extremely hard on your family. 😦 However, it is best not to let them suffer!! My parents had to put down our first dog, and they told me that she ran away with her boyfriend!

  9. Pingback: Gifts of Life | Goober Nut's Life

Leave a Reply

