Sesame-Asian Burgers

Thank you for all of the well wishes, kind thoughts and stories you shared about your own experience with losing dogs and other pets.  I definitely know I am not alone with the pain I am feeling, and it really does help to be assured that we made the right choice for the dog we loved.  It wasnโ€™t an easy decision in the least, but we know it was the best thing for Lucky, and that is really all that matters.

To lighten it up around here a little bit, I thought I would share a super easy recipe for two that I made last night for dinner.  I had a pound of ground turkey thawed out in the refrigerator, and I thought it would be a good idea to try and get two meals out of the meat.  Burgers automatically came to mind, but I thought I would put a little spin on the usual patties by adding in two unexpected ingredients.

 

Sesame-Asian Burgers

DSCN1605

Ingredients

1/2 pound ground turkey

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 tablespoon Sesame Ginger Seasoning (If you donโ€™t have this seasoning, try 1/2 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon ginger, 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flake, and a pinch of sea salt)

Directions

Heat grill-pan over medium heat.

Combine turkey, soy sauce and seasoning, then form into two patties (or 4 mini patties for Sesame-Asian Sliders)

DSCN1588

DSCN1590

DSCN1591

DSCN1593

Drizzle olive oil around grill pan and add burgers.  Cook 6-7 minutes on the first side, then flip and grill 5-6 minutes on the second side, or until meat is fully cooked.

DSCN1597

DSCN1599

Add burger to a warmed bun and serve alongside boiled edamame, sprinkled with a touch of sea salt.

DSCN1603

You can top the burger with whatever you would like.  I chose a spread of olive oil mayonnaise, and my husband added provolone cheese and mayo as well.  If you had extra time, these would taste amazing with an Asian coleslaw on top.

DSCN1607

Questions:

What are your favorite burger flavors?  Toppings?

Who likes edamame?  I love it, so addicting!

18 thoughts on “Sesame-Asian Burgers

  1. Great recipe! I’m always looking for new ways to use ground turkey… Thanks for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love edamame! There’s a restaurant called Giraffe that makes the best edamame bean appetizer – I think the put chili and mirin and soy sauce on the beans and it forms a gorgeous glaze. Oh man, my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

    I love Asian flavours, so these burgers sound great to me too!

  3. Pingback: My Chipotle Addiction and a Few Delicious Recipes! | Dawnie's Life

  4. I love when I can throw some bacon on top of a burger, but I’m not sure I’d throw it on top of those burgers…I bet those had more than enough flavor on their own!

Leave a Reply

